Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Hands up who started up with gimbal lock on!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Fourblade, May 22, 2015.

  1. Fourblade

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Warwickshire UK
    I'm sure it doesn't do any damage and I was trying my best to avoid doing it but missed it whilst doing the firmware upgrade... As soon as I pressed the button to start the P3 up I knew the gimbal lock was in position...

    I'm sure they wrote into the startup routine that if the gimbal shows any resistance then it would stop trying... at least that's what I'm hoping :rolleyes:
     
    envisionabove likes this.
  2. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    :pI'll tell you only if you Like me!:rolleyes:
    I did not as it was on the bottom of the box.
    I did however forget the foam once, I think it helps! After all it got here from China without the real gimbel on and only the white foam. So props to to the white foam.:D
     
  3. JayB

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Nottingham UK
    +1 but it was on second flight .....:oops:
     
  4. Allezdada

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    17
    I did the exact same thing when doing the last firmware upgrade - was just following the instructions provided and didn't even think about removing the lock.
     
  5. dataway

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Southern California
    I used to forget that darn thing all the time so I drilled a small hole in it and attached a Red/white embroidered tag saying "Remove Before Flight" and I have not forgotten since...
     
    Fjallis and Mako79 like this.
  6. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    I will admit I have done this as well.. Just try to make sure you remove it before power on;)
     
  7. Fourblade

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Warwickshire UK
    Maybe that's why DJI made the gimbal lock fall off so easily - off when you want it on and on when you want it off :rolleyes:
     
  8. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    I have painted the inside boxes, bright red and yellow, can't miss it now :)
     
    envisionabove likes this.
  9. CYeutter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    10
    I forget from time to time. Always feel like an idiot.
     
  10. Dome

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Italy
    Ahah ... I got it with P2V+, and now with P3, then I will on P4 ... :(
    When I unboxed the P3 the gimbal lock was not in place ... soooo I didn't forget it in first fly !!!
     
  11. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Done it once during the last firmware upgrade, flew around 10 times since and everything's working fine and the horizon is still perfectly level.
     
  12. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    best!!!
    This is my other bird. I have it on the P3 as well. Best $2 spent.
    [​IMG]
     
    snowghost likes this.
  13. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Have not forgot on the P3 yet but did that several times on my Vision. I bought a 3d printed lens cover/gimbal lock for the Vision and it's not been an issue. I swear by them and don't know why people don't consider it a must have item. I have one on order for the P3.

    Tjey are lens covers as well and I alway make sure I see a picture in the display before I launch. It's easy to see if the screen is all black.
     
  14. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Where'd you get your flag?
     
  15. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    +1 here, was so excited to get it off the ground I forgot the lock, knew it at once as 'the dance' didn't happen. Now I have a remove before flight flag on both the lens cover and gimbal lock. Although the camera lens cover is hard to miss with a black monitor.
     
  16. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    snowghost likes this.
  17. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
    Never have with my P3. :D

    Couple times with the P2V+ but then I also got a tag like below. I just ran it through the bracket. I even remembered to remove it for the firmware update and to screw around on the simulator.

     
  18. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
  19. Julius717

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    248
    Have these on both mine since day one 1432312539782.jpg
     
  20. ctp

    ctp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Reston, VA