Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

H3-3D will not tilt up after full tilt down

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by droneshop, Sep 7, 2015.

Tags:
  1. droneshop

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I have a h3 3d and have tried it on 2 different P2, It seems to work fine until i tilt all the way down, then if i try to tilt up it only come up maby 10-15 degrees and then becomes unresponsive, I have tried to reset the gimbal using the tweezers, and have updated firmware. Help I am a little lost on what else to try.

    Its a brand new h3 3d no crashes.
     
  2. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    2 stage calibration is needed.
    Plug USB into controller use the RC1.2 assist. Calibrate all sticks and move the tilt dial/slider. Apply and close.
    Turn on Phantom and plug usb into phantom and start Phantom Assist. Do the same calibration and move the tilt dial/slider.
    Make sure upgrade mode is selected if you have the new controller (upgrade = relative, basic = absolute).
    Also make sure in ADvance>Gimbal, Gain = whatever, Horizontal = 0 and Vertical = 0.
     
  3. droneshop

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I will try the RC control calibration in the phantom rc app and double check that, I did the calibrations in the phantom app, had all the values set at 0 for hz and vert in the software. Selected upgrade mode for the controller with the gimbal wheel.
     
  4. droneshop

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Did both calibrations, and IMU calibration, still same problem.
     
  5. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Plug into phantom assist and look at the values the slider is registering. Make sure it has full range.
    Also check that the upgrade mode stays when applied. Sometimes it can revert back.
     
  6. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Have bothered to check in the upgrades to see if the gimbal is even recognized and if there is update for your gimbal??
     
  7. droneshop

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Gimbal is recognized in upgrades and controller stays on upgrade version. Sliders are in the middle for all. Has full range of motion but gets stuck on way back up.
     
  8. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Try recalibrating the sticks and X1 in the RC. Then do the same in in P2 software with the RC turned on. Have you tried those gimbal gains? Slide the tilt gain to the left to between 2-7 and the vertical gain to the right 0-5. If you go to far with the vertical slider you'll be looking at the props and the tilt will slow down the movement.