Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

H3-3D vs H4-3D - Looking for a clear answer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chadandreo, May 12, 2015.

  1. chadandreo

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida and NYC
    Hi,
    I own a DJI Phantom 2 with a H2-2D mount and I am looking to upgrade my setup to the GoPro Hero 4 Black with the appropiate mount.
    My question is, are there any benefits in buying the H4-3D mount over the H3-3D?
    I have searched and watched a few videos and i cannot find anything on the difference between the two mounts other than the size.

    I know that the H3 can me easily modified to work with the Hero4 and I can find them used for cheap.
     
  2. TuT

    TuT

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I'm using the H3-3D with GoPro 4 Silver. I didn't have to modify anything, worked perfect right out of the box. Balance is fine as well.
    Some people say the camera mount pushes on the Settings button on the side of the button and may have to be filed back slightly. I had no problem with this myself.
     
  3. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    I never had the H2-2D gimbal, but like Tut, I have the Hero4 Black on an H3-3D. There are two versions of the H3-3D. When the Hero 4 was introduced the "settings" button was partially depressed by the gimbal mount. A quiet upgrade lowered the size of the shoulder in the tray to eliminate this problem. If you are buying a new H3-3D then you should be OK. If you are buying used, then it's an easy mod with your Dremel tool to cut a notch to provide the settings button some clearance.
     
  4. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    4 Silver and 4 Black have different weights.

    The only difference between the two gimbals is the weight they're designed to balance. Everything else is effectively the same. The side button is a non issue. You can wedge a little spacer in there if it causes a problem but I've found if you put the camera in carefully, it won't be an issue.
     
  5. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    What I did to solve the issue of the button on the side being pressed by the gimbal on the H3-3D that i had for a little while. Was to just put a tiny strip of foam tape on the edge of the tray that the go pro sits in.