Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

H3-3D version V1 vs V1.1

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by Kicerk52, May 11, 2014.

  1. Kicerk52

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that some time ago the gimbal wad "updated", now with the v1.1 version it has a connection through usb on the side.

    Was there anything wrong with the v1 gimbal?

    Which ones do you have guys?

    And what version would you choose when buying now? :)
     
  2. UrAwFuL

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    According to Daves Motors.

    Your decision! :lol:

    Lightbridge is super-expensive to me at the moment so I have no intention of taking advantage of that. So for now I'm happy that my gimbal powers the GoPro.

    EDIT: To answer your question... No idea, V1, V1. :lol:
     
  3. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    I'm literally just trying to make this choice now, the dealer has both in stock and I am ordering today.

    I'd prefer v1.0 as it's neater and exactly like the 2D but I not sure if DJI may have made some other tweaks to v.1.1 ?

    By the way, the v1.1 version is powered via the USB socket, so it does in fact power/ charge the battery in flight, but is fiddlier and more prone to snapping the ribbon cable.

    v1.1 is featured in this DJI video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOoU-RftvV8
     
  4. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    I have the original H3 3D (from Daves Motors) and I'm very happy with it. I'm a little skeptical of the new versions' side connector appears to be a very fragile connector. Plus I really have no plans for lightbridge.

    A note for all considering H3 - when installing retaining pins (shown in video) DJI instructs to put retaining pins in M1 & M3 position - do not install M3 position pin as this will restrict H3 movement (rear of gimbal hits M3 pin). Instead use small wire tie so you still have retaining point but get full movement of gimbal.
     
  5. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Cheers for the advice. I went for a v1.

    btw. Have you got the interference board attached?
     
  6. uscpsycho

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to bump this old thread but it's been a few weeks and I'm wondering if any other differences between v1 and v1.1 have been discovered? I know v1.1 has the USB connection and is lightbridge compatible but are there any other differences?
     
  7. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    I ordered yesterday from B&H. No clue which one I'm getting. I got this from the aerial support guy in chat:

    I gotta brush up on my install options. I'll be all up in those threads today.
     
  8. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    The Lightbridge compatibility story is pure fiction - V 1.0 works fine with Lightbridge, and has the advantage that it powers the GoPro and doesn't need the ridiculously fragile ribbon cable.

    Another poster has reported in a couple of other threads that DJI informed him that the change was solely due to them being unable to source the rear panel connector. It has also been suggested that the reason for that might be that they never properly licensed its use, but that is speculation.
     
  9. uscpsycho

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not read that v1.0 is lightbridge compatible anywhere, are you sure about this. I am 100% certain that both versions power the GoPro, initial reports that v1.1 wouldn't are fiction.

    I have read speculation that there was a balancing issue and the weight distribution of v1.1 results in smoother video. But I haven't seen anything that I'd consider concrete about this.
     
  10. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    I am running Lightbridge with V 1.0 so yes, I am quite sure that they are compatible. To clarify the charging comment - that is a reference to using it with Lightbridge - V1.1 will charge the camera if it is connected via USB for a regular SD FPV video feed, but not if the HDMI connector is used for an HD feed to Lightbridge.
     
  11. uscpsycho

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very interesting. I read something from DJI that said v1.1 couldn't charge the GoPro which was later proven wrong by many people. But I guess what DJI meant to say was that you can't charge in combination with Lightbridge, however, they didn't explicitly say that.

    Anyway, I have no plans to ever use Lightbridge so sounds like v1.0 is best unless there is some truth to the theories about weight distribution. Or if there are some other differences that haven't been mentioned yet.
     
  12. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    The charging issue was mentioned in some of the install documentation for LB, and was fairly unambiguous, but then was misreported multiple times on the forums.

    I haven't seen any significant weight distribution issues with the 1.0. It is a fraction left side heavy (as seen from the front), but that is completely corrected by the slight additional weight of the HDMI cable, so it appears to fly balanced and smooth.

    On that basis I think that for both SD and HD, 1.0 is superior in all respects to 1.1, which seems to be a rushed and poor solution to a connector supply problem. At some point I assume that DJI will do this properly and make another version that includes the rear panel connector again, and uses the rear panel HDMI pins to feed both SD and HD through the slip rings, eliminating the dangling cables altogether.

    By the way - you might want to try LB before you decide it's not worth it - it is very impressive.
     
  13. uscpsycho

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Who said it wasn't worth it? ;)

    It is expensive and this is just a hobby for me so can't see myself buying that unless I was making money from it. Also it's more gear to carry around. I'm definitely planning to get FPV gear but I'll be getting a diversity monitor so that I don't have to lug around a receiver and more batteries.
     
  14. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    What the heck? Does this make sense to anyone?

    This was a reply from an email I sent on Sunday, inquiring about which version of the H3-3D I would be getting if I ordered it. (I ended up ordering yesterday, just rolling the dice because I sold my 2D gimbal and wanted to have something before this weekend). Anyway, this was the delayed reply to my email:

     
  15. britchris1

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
  16. uscpsycho

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Curious who the seller was? Talk about serious misinformation! :eek:
     
  17. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Nothing there sounds correct. As I mentioned previously, LB works fine with the 1.0, and adding a protective housing, even if it fitted, would presumably seriously unbalance the gimbal.
     
  18. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA

    Yeah sorry. I thought I mentioned it. This was from "aerial support" from B&H.
     
  19. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    So that dude told me all that stuff about v1.1, the skeleton case and how I'd be getting 1.1 - It came today and it's v1. :lol:

    Poor dude is probably getting all his info wrong from some database of info or something. I'll reply and let him know.
     
  20. britchris1

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Probably the same guy that told me the gimbal was shipped with the mounting adapter and legs! They really need to get it together. Apparently they never read forums we all knew the real story after a couple of days, they're still giving out the wrong info