Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

H3-3D Noise

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by ScottH, Apr 28, 2014.

  1. ScottH

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    I'm getting a nasty sounding grinding noise from the gimbal that happens as I tilt through a certain range. It otherwise performs fine.. at least as far as I can tell. Has anyone else seen (heard) this?
     
  2. PhantomPhreak

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The OC in CA
    When I first installed mine on power up it would cycle 3-4 times panning and vertical making a grinding noise. After it would settle and seemed to work OK. I didn't trust it so I removed it planning to return. I then thought a video of the noise and gyrations would be beneficial so I re installed. This time no noise and cycled only once before settling. I then installed new firmware and still tests OK. One time it seemed the back plate of the gimbal got very warm/hot to the touch and the camera as well but on subsequent power ups and recording it is now cool. Hoping it stays this way.
     
  3. ScottH

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Well here it is... http://youtu.be/nCwDtlMwOTs

    Doesn't do it every time but often enough. I do have the limits set slightly negative (up) but it does it at zero as well.
     
  4. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Have you tried resetting frequency on gimbal adjustment page?
     
  5. ScottH

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Hm.. I don't see an option for that. There are tilt limits and gain, and an option for FPV mode that locks roll. Am I missing something? Thx.
     
  6. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    In assistant software upper right of page should be freq
     

    Attached Files:

  7. ScottH

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    I do not have those options.. hm. Which version is that? I have v3 now but don't recall it in 2 either. Was it? Thx!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    That came from NAZA M assistant 2.20 (firmware 4.02)
     
  9. azsean

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed my gimbal and updated the firmware. Took a quick video and it was making a very loud grinding noise. I'll check into the settings tomorrow but the heat it generated was so much I couldn't touch it. This along with having compass/gps issues is very worrisome.
     
  10. ScottH

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    The dealer I purchased from is sending my video clip to DJI for their opinion. Supposedly we'll find out today what the deal is and I'll report back.
     
  11. ScottH

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Thanks.. what does the frequency adjustment do?
     
  12. Kelso Kubat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frisco, CO
    mine was making a weird noise too. i pulled it off. going to reinstall tomorrow and see if that helps. :shock:
     
  13. canadavenyc

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm a little confused. I use the Phantom Assistant software with my Phantom 2, and fly using NAZA mode. Can this NAZA Assistant software you're referring to be used to configure my Phantom 2? I thought that was just for configuring third-party copters that use the NAZA flight controller.
     
  14. markab

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is that not for a servo based gimbal?
     
  15. ScottH

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Update - DJI have asked me to return the gimbal for repair, expected turn around time no less than four weeks. That's some great customer support on an out of box failure.
     
  16. markab

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't work out if you are being sarcastic or not!! :D no less than 4 weeks!! brand new unit, they should send a replacement immediately!!
     
  17. ScottH

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Yes.. sarcasm is a hobby of mine. It's apparent that they cannot meet demand and quality has suffered even more.
     
  18. markab

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0

    :D I am still waiting to get a response from DJI as I have the same issue, not looking forward to waiting that amount of time to get a replacement.
     
  19. Bluegrass

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never heard or read about anyone talking about using the NAZA assistant. When is that to be used?
     
  20. invictus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having exactly the same issue with a brand new H3 3D right out of the box.

    Were you able to get a replacement from DJI?