Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

H3-3D Issues

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by mopo3ko, Sep 1, 2015.

  1. mopo3ko

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Hello Pilots!

    I recently purchased Phantom 2 with H3-3D Gimbal, and noticed aligning issue with Zenmuse,

    I tried all available options posted on this forum, none of them worked and I decided to contact DJI support,

    wrote several emails and called several times, with no luck....

    Questions:

    1. Anybody exprencied same no answer issues with DJI, seems phone line always recommends to hang up and try another day?
    2. Any service centers in US I can ship Zenmuse H3-3D for diagnostic and possible repair?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Explain what you tried..
     
  3. eliezerborges

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Curitiba - Brazil
    I feel like mine is not aligning as well
     
  4. mopo3ko

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Mako79:

    1. Calibration via Phantom software as instructed
    2. Upgrading Firmware
    3. Deupgrading Firmware
    4. Changing rubber holders
    5. Adjusting enclosure mount
     
  5. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Do you have permanent horizon tilt that is off about 1-2 degrees? Or does it happen mid flight??
    Are you doing Advanced IMU calibrations on a spirit/bubble levelled surface. It has to be levelled in all axis. Also to do a successful Advanced IMU calibration, it must be done the moment the phantom is turned on. Make sure you get 2 green ticks in less than a minute. Remember, the longer you leave the phantom on idle, the higher chances the IMU calibration will fail.
    Another thing to do is find North when you are doing the Adv IMU. Use a compass, find north and point the phantom's nose in the same direction. I'm at work, so I cannot post up youtube clips.
     
  6. eliezerborges

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Curitiba - Brazil
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1441297951.175960.jpg

    That's how it is!
     
  7. mopo3ko

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, CO

    1. Its about 15 degrees and its during standby and flight
    2. Yes, Advanced
    3. Advanced with successful finish
    4. 2 green thats correct
    5. Used this video for N

    I will try post a video to demonstrate

    Thank you Mako79 for your help!
     
  8. mopo3ko

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Standby


    Flight Mode
     
  9. eliezerborges

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Curitiba - Brazil
    Did u crash it?
     
  10. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Sounds like a physical issue.
    1. Check the grub hex screw at the top of the gimbal arm. On one side is the flex cable, and the other is a "hidden" hex grub screw. Try and tighten that and make sure its on the flat side of the D-shaft.
    2. Could be a dead potentiometer giving false readings.

    The other thing i notice is when your phantom is off, the go pro is NOT neutral balanced. Neutral balance is when the gopro "floats" and does not limp to one side when off. People usually use coins to counter balance the weight and this destresses the motors and stops motor burn out.

    Analogy would be holding a 10kg weight closest to your chest. You can hold that longer than extending your arms out with a 10kg weight.
     
  11. Marlin009

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    West Coast of Florida
    Could it be that it's a hero 4 on an H3 gimbal?
     
  12. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,101
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Here's a photo of that allen screw.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Could be... If neutral balance wasn't found and the motor(s) was overstressed for long periods. Its hard say without having proper diagnostics.

    That's the one!! Thanks.
     
  14. mopo3ko

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    nope
     
  15. mopo3ko

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Thank you, I will check with screw, but again since its new purchase, I am wondering why DJI wont respond to my inquiries, replace or repair will be good
     
  16. mopo3ko

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I have both GoPro 3 and 4 and they acting the same...
     
  17. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,101
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    In all of your posts I don't see where you have mentioned that you calibrated X1 in both the RC unit or P2 software and the RC unit has to be turned on while calibrating X1 in the P2. While in the P2 software go into upgrades and see if the gimbal is even recognized.
     
  18. mopo3ko

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Jason, I was using following tutorials:







     
  19. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,101
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    QUOTE="mopo3ko, post: 514866, member: 34104"]Jason, I was using following tutorials:



    [/QUOTE]

    But did you look in the upgrades tab to see if the gimbal was even recognized??
    Upgrade Page.jpg
     
    #19 jason, Sep 10, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2015
  20. mopo3ko

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    But did you look in the upgrades tab to see if the gimbal was even recognized??
    View attachment 30272 [/QUOTE]


    Yes, gimbal is recognized and visible