H.O.A. Letter

Reaction score
Just received a letter from my HOA that we have 30 days before they propose a "no drone zone" for my neighborhood. 30 days to state my case. I can see both sides, but this is the dumbest thing I've ever heard of. I don't think these old farts understand the capabilities of a P3P for instance. How would it possibly be enforced. What about drones taking off outside the neighborhood?Unfortunately, everyone thinks the UAV is "watching" them. True paranoia. Besides, how will I get my Amazon packages delivered?

Reactions: Ti22
What State are you in?
I've had a lot of experience dealing with HOAs and comes down to your documents.

Usually they can get you by stating you are creating 'noxious' activities (noise, etc.) which can prevent you from flying over your own parcel.

Let them know that they are not the FAA (in case they are confused). Cite the US Code that states that the Fed Govt is in charge of airspace and the Code that states the FAA is in charge of regulating airspace.

Your HOA is free to regulate the land that they own and what happens _on_ the _land_. That is all. However, this would probably include operating the drone even from your own property.

They can no more regulate your drone in the air then they can regulate aircraft (it's been ruled your drone is an "aircraft" when it comes to FAA regulation).

It really is a question of how they word their regulation. That is, if they attempt to restrict airspace or where a drone can be operated from.

Let me scan some paperwork my parents just sent me a few days ago on this very subject (HOA's wanting to ban drones, not going into details on the law) and I'll add it to this post. You may even want to share the paperwork with the HOA.

Reactions: Vanjo Grale
If you don't feel like waiting you can simply Google the subject and get all kinds of articles and opinions.

Unfortunately the only opinions that count are Judges' and those don't seem to prevalent, yet.

Reactions: GoodnNuff