Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GS5 Cable issue

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by UASDRONE, Jan 25, 2016.

  1. UASDRONE

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    46
    I have the GS5 phone that comes with a USB 3.0 SUPERSPEED to the phone and micro USB Male that does not fit the controller. Is there another cable I can buy or do I have to use an adapter of some sort?
     
  2. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    145
    I assume you have a P3S from looking at your avatar picture. What are you trying to do with the cable? A micro USB cable is needed if you want to download the logs or videos/pictures from the drone/camera to the computer.

    You don't need to connect that cable from your phone to your controller to fly like P3A/P. The micro USB port on the controller is for charging only.
     
    #2 mandalay, Jan 25, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2016
  3. UASDRONE

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    46
    I thought I had too. So how would I open up the other features like "Follow Me, Points of interest etc."?
     
  4. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    145
    Follow Me uses your phone's GPS and POI does not need your phone's GPS to work.
     
  5. UASDRONE

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    46
    How do I bring those options up on my phone? Can't seen to locate them.
     
  6. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    145
  7. UASDRONE

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    46
    DJI dont really explain it on the standard. Checking YouTube.
     
  8. Prop_Washer2

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    16
    Download the DJI GO app from Google Play onto your phone. Follow the instructions the app tells you. You'll have to attavh to the P3's Wi-Fi network...there are some great videos on YouTube showing you step by step instructions. Make sure the video addresses a Phantom 3 STANDARD as they set up a little differently, and when uploading the updates give it 20-30 minutes while the bird is beeping and flashing...
     
  9. UASDRONE

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    46
    I figured it out I have to have the phantom in the air and toggle the right remote switch all the way down for the options to come up on the app.