Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GS log data

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by dropke, Mar 10, 2015.

  1. dropke

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp
    I am using a GS with my PH2 .The only disadvantage is carrying the laptop (Windows 8.1) :D
    It works great.
    My question : everytime after succesfully made a WP round there is written a 'log file' under gsdata.
    With wich Programm can I read the" gslog.dat " ? so I can see all parameters ? :)
    Or is it possible to convert that 'dat" file to something else ?
    The Worklogfile.txt is no problem to read that file.

    Tnx

    Dropke
     
  2. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
    Try this program,

    http://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo

    Just be careful installing. The installer is bundled with other software that you probably don't want.
    I got my copy from AutoCAD Storm and Sanitary, it was bundled in there to read data files.

    This program says it will open dat files too
    http://www.freefileviewer.com/

    And the GS manual says Notepad will also open them.
     
  3. dropke

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp
    Tnx for quick response...................we will try the progs You mentionned
    The GS says to open 'log' files with 'Notepad' that ONLY works with 'txt' extensions


    dropke
     
  4. dropke

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp
    We tried your mentionned 'progs' but NOTHING readable.................... it stays like 'Chinese' or 'ASCII"
    So we NEED a Progr that CONVERTS the '........dat' file in READABLE text

    Who helps ???? :roll:


    Dropke
     
  5. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
  6. dropke

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp
    Can You read the continance of the file ? I not he only gives me:

    see screenshot 'file size 140 KB


    Do You get more info ???
     

    Attached Files:

  7. dropke

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp
    Yes , thats all!!!!!!!
    I need the contents of those 140 KB !!!!probably Location, flyingtime ,distance ????????????


    dropke
     
  8. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
    Alright check out the GPSExporter program maybe, It's included with the Ground Station CD.
    It mentions the DAT files. Let us know if you figure it out.
     
  9. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
    I know that you want to read that file, ^^^ but look at the date on that file.
    It's not yours.
    I have the exact same file and never a flight using this laptop.
    Pretty sure it's from "test.awm", the test flight in China. Probably why you only see the file in Chinese.

    But download iOSDmini assistant software and it gives you a data reader.

    http://www.dji.com/product/iosd-mark-ii/download

    Do you have an iOSD on your quad?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. hychewright

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6

    Can you use a ground station without using a pc? ............Newbe here.
     
  11. dropke

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp
    depends system.....................
    Apple(phone or ipad) or windows(laptop)
    android is still missing

    dropke
     
  12. dropke

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp
    After contacting DJI about decoding the file, it seems that FLYTREX can decode the GS.LOG.DAT file.
    So if anyone has good contacts with Flytrex , this can be a point for help.

    tnx

    Dropke
     
  13. DronePilot

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
  15. dropke

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp


    I will give it a try if that Progr works with my gS data log.But not everyone GETS working the Jar file.
    Tnx for the info already.

    dropke Belgium
     
  16. dropke

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp

    Yes thats how hte 'unreadable' file looks.
    See the replay #13 (I will give that a try)

    My opinion is that the 'decoder' is a matter for DJI? They are the supplier of the GS with the Software.
    Therfore I was supised that 'DJI' says the GSLOG;dat is for 'Flytrex ??????because the log of Flytrex I import that file into Dashware to get the 'Fly Info'
    In the new Phantom3 will there be a possibality to FLY GS?


    dropke
     
  17. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    I wrote a program that reads the Flytrex data and generates a flight logbook entry. If you send me the dat file I can see if it is something I could work with.
     
  18. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
  19. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    Thanks, I need to run some experiments on this file. Tell me again what is the source of the DAT file and what do you recall was the purpose of the file?
     
  20. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
    I believe the data is recorded by the isod into the ground station program.
    Screen shot where recorded below.
    rrrr.jpg
    The data is divided into eight columns.
    See reply #14 for more info.(Read by Editpad pro7 software)
    Data on the far left is binary and the data on the far right is ASCII, as far as I know.

    The data would be used to geotag your photos. AFAIK.


     
    #20 auen1, Apr 24, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2015