Ground Surface Accuracy

Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to photogrammetry and UAV's. I wish to understand if I want to obtain high resolution 3D models of the ground surface within a few mm of accuracy will photogrammetry suit or would LIDAR be more appropriate. The ground I wish to assess is free from objects such as trees and grass.

Thanks

' Bare earth' gives you the best change of getting good results regardless of the technique used. Give us some more details. Are you looking for mm level elevation accuracies, ground location, both? What level of ground resolution (GSD) do you want. And how big is the area that you want to map? What bird do you plan on flying? The 'right' answer greatly depends on questions like those above. In any case, mm levels are going to be very difficult (translate that to expensive) to obtain.

within a few mm of accuracy
We control our projects with a reasonably high level of accuracy and we're getting around 0.05'-0.1' (15mm-30mm) in horizontal accuracy and 0.3'-0.5' (100mm-150mm) in vertical accuracy. We can do a little better than this, but I would say that this is reasonable to expect. Getting horizontal and vertical accuracies better than that is going to be pretty tough. LiDAR is likely to be a better solution. What are you trying to measure with those tolerances?

Actually, airborne lidars aren't going to do much if any better than what you're quoting! And I bet you have to work pretty hard and be very careful to get down to those numbers. The other issue with lidar is gsd. 10-20 points per square meter is about the level that you will get with lidar. Actually, that gives you a lot of useful info, but there are limitations. I've built and flown a number of lidar systems for Air Force and other agencies on all kinds of aircraft and you are always going to be trading off gsd for area coverage rates. Be interesting to hear more from the OP about just what he wants to do and why he thjnks he needs such hi red.