Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Ground Station Support is Coming!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Bwells, Dec 4, 2013.

  1. Bwells

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Adam

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    18
    Several members found this one already, but I'm pretty excited about it, it deserves its own thread.

    I can't get too excited about Ground Station support when I lose video after about 400ft, I'm guessing the ground station will also disconnect at that point.
     
  3. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Good point Adam. It depends if the app "uploads" the instructions to the Phantom at the beginning of the flight, or if it's effectively sending control input commands "on the fly" (sorry!) to follow the set course. Be fun to find out, but if you've got range issues then the sooner someone comes up with a simple, workable booster for the signal the better.
     
  4. Shedracer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    That sound great, looking forward to trying it. What I'd really like from DJI for chrimbo, is NM Assistant. Had it on my Phantom 1 and it's great, you can adjust all the Assistant settings, if I remember rightly, only thing it didn't do, was the firmware updates! But even this must be possible with the wifi the Vision has. It would solve a lot for those that only have Mac or iPads etc. please DJI, bring the NMR Assistant to the Vision. ;)
     
  5. drone4me

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nice. Does anyone know if the vision needs to be constantly connected to the phone app for the gps coordinates updates or does the coordinates get copied to onboard memory so it can be totally autonomous.
     
  6. Firestat

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio USA
    Hi guys. I thought that there already was a ground station app out there. I have an I Pod and an I Pad, but no I Phone. When I tried to download the ground station app, it told me that my device could not be used with this app. I assume it was due to the fact that it is not an I Phone.

    Will I be able to use this app with the I Pod or I Pad?

    Thanks
    Chuck