Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Ground Station next week!,,

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Bill_Burkert, Mar 20, 2014.

  1. Bill_Burkert

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    DJI update is available next week, iOS app at Apple for approval. This time it feels real. Get ready.
     
  2. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,922
    Likes Received:
    1,798
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    So, 2015 then?
     
  3. davemcm

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Scotland
    LOL

    Also, i have this working on my Phantom 1 already, and have used it maybe 5 times max, and most of those have been just so i could see the height / velocity without my iOSD Mini. Really thought i would be into it, but haven't used it much at all.
     
  4. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    and the answer everyone has been looking for: "The two waypoint systems are effectively identical, except that Ground Station is an addon for the Phantom 2 that will require the addition of a Bluetooth downlink and an iPad app, while the Phantom 2 Vision will be able to fly waypoints natively through the Vision app."
     
  5. neiloakley

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where did you get this information from? Great if it's true but i remain sceptical :)
     
  6. MrTommy

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
  7. bobomet

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Virginia, USA

    Well .... that certainly looks real enough.

    Perhaps DJI is actually emerging from a once small toy peddler and becoming a real global technology aggregator.
     
  8. AllanVB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Available for the phantom 2 as soon as apple updates....
    https://www.facebook.com/DJIglobal
    vision?????
     
  9. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    The quote they have on that site seems a bit confused, as I don't think there's any indication the P2V will allow you to use a PC for waypoint programming like that says.

    Also, this is the quote everyone seems to be hanging on to from DJI's FB page this morning:

    "The two waypoint systems are effectively identical, except that Ground Station is an addon for the Phantom 2 that will require the addition of a Bluetooth downlink and an iPad app, while the Phantom 2 Vision will be able to fly waypoints natively through the Vision app."
     
  10. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    So just to clarify, what would I need to use the groundstation setup on a P2nv ?
    Just the bluetooth module ?
     
  11. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    What they said today kinda makes it sound that way, but I think they unintentionally re-clouded that issue...I suspect it will still take the full 2.4GHz Data Link hardware, which includes the BTU on the ground end for iPad link. Currently connecting the BTU to the NAZA directly only allows use of the iPhone settings tool (like the Assistant software in an app).
     
  12. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    So that makes it an expensive add-on if I need the full 2.4 hardware then.
    At this stage I am unsure what would be better fun, the GS setup or Lightbridge ....
     
  13. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    If I was trying to decide between the two and I had the money for the Lightbridge, that's what I'd go for. I already have the 2.4 Data Link setup and I'm still intending to replace it with the LB at some point on one of my rigs.
     
  14. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Is it possible to do the same sort of waypoint stuff with Lightbridge or is it purely for HD video?
     
  15. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I don't believe it will have waypoint capability, but I don't know for sure. However, on the platform I'd install it on, the LB's features look like they'd outweigh the benefit I'd get from waypoints...at least for my uses. If waypoints are critical to you, the GS may be the only option for a while. Something tells me though that they have to at least be considering giving the LB a connection to (or compatibility with) at least the iPad GS.

    The LB also acts as a control interface, so I'd think that adding that GS functionality wouldn't be a huge leap.
     
  16. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    its my understanding that if you wish to use waypoints on a Phantom 2 then you will need a firmware upgrade, an iPad and the ground station: http://www.dji.com/product/ipad-ground-station

    if you wish to use waypoints on a Phantom 2 vision, you will need to update the app and firmware.

    this makes sense because the reason for the BTU on the P2 is because that is how the ground station talks to the iPad. On the vision, the iPhone already talks to the vision via the wifi on the remote.

    The vision version will be a scaled down version due to the fact that its going to be on a smaller device (a phone and not a tablet)

    The reason the ground station works with an iPad and not an android device most likely has to do with the hardware. You can get a cheap android device at walgreens for under $100. The device will in no way be powerful enough to run the software and if the app crashes, DJI is be flooded with phone calls in regards to an issue that has nothing to do with them.

    I've heard others talk about using it on a PC. Personally I prefer the iPad version over the PC version. Not to mention the fact that an iPad mini is easier to travel with than a laptop.
     
  17. davemcm

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Scotland
    No waypoint like functions with lightbridge and both cannot be used simultaneously unfortunately, also the price isn't really comparable lightbridge is £1000+ whereas the groundstation is about £100!
     
  18. DroneDream

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    The prospect of automated flight for P2 is exciting indeed!
    As a relative newbie, I may be behind on my knowledge of waypoint flying, so please bear with me.
    Does anyone know if you can manually adjust the yaw during an automated flight? i.e. after you upload the flightplan and sent the P2 into automated flight. (assuming it stays within range of the flight controller, of course)
     
  19. macheung

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    4
    For those with a working around station on version one, you better download the app it up before the updates and turn off auto update. The next version of the app maybe restricted as DJI was working on compliance with uav regulations. No one knows what that really means, but it is likely that it is restricted in someway, and it is easiest to put those restrictions on the app rather than the naza firmware.
     
  20. neiloakley

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any more rumours about firmware update for the P2?