Ground Station and FPV

Reaction score
First off. I'm new here. Sorry if this is redundant and my search didn't find the answer.

I'm a pro photographer with a client that wants to buy me a drone setup to get specific shots for him.

So I am thinking of the Phantom 2, with integrated gimbal and the GoPro Black. Would like to add FPV. But also just saw the demo video of iOS Ground Station on the DJI web site.

My question is, how would one use both? A video monitor AND the ground station?

Thanks!

currently the phantom 2 doesn't work with the ground station. they update the firmware in january. So by the time you get it, it should work. Instead of using your controller, you use an iPad. Works great for smooth aerial filming because unlike the human hand that twitches, the iPad does not. When you send it on a path from one waypoint to the other, it flies there in a straight line. Of course if you have severe wind you may see a bit of movement. It works like google maps would work for a car. You can add waypoints and in that waypoint you can tell it how high off the ground you want it. Super easy to use.

Sounds great. But can you also use the iPad for FPV? Or do you need to look at both screens at the same time for filming?

No video input on the iPad. It might come like on the vision but in all honesty, I think it will be too slow to keep up with everything. We shall see if dji comes out with it. Right now it's a screen for each.

So it occurs to me that with the Black GoPro, I can use the GoPro's wifi and app for FPV. Right?

nope. you can not do that. ever. the gorpo wifi interferes with the phantom controller. You'll end up with a wrecked phantom or a phantom that flies away. Not to mention the fact that the wifi out of the gopro has a ton of lag and a range of about 15 feet. If you are using the gopro within 15 feet of yourself, might as well just get a stick and not a phantom.