Ground Station allows you to program a flight path?

Reaction score
I'm a newbie to UAV so don't assume too much about my knowledge.

I want to make sure I understand the Ground Station system. Can I assume that if I have a P2 that all I need is the Ground Station hardware and software and it will allow me to specify waypoints that the P2 will visit?

In other words, I get the impression that I can program 10 ways points into the Ground Station software and then launch the P2 and watch it visit the waypoints I programmed while I sit back and watch. Hands off the transmitter. Is that correct?

http://www.dji.com/product/ipad-ground-station/

In case it matters, I don't have an iPad, I was planning on using the PC version of the software to program waypoints.

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=5847

The PC version is for a different flight controller (brain). The brain in the Phantom is the Naza. The wookong-M is the brain that uses the PC version. Unless you are flying super huge expensive ($6000+) setups, you'll never use a wookong.

For the P2 ground station, everything is done on the iPad. If you wanted to use google maps on your PC to plan waypoints ahead of time, you can but you'll have to redo them on the iPad. I do that all the time. I use google maps to determine where I want to fly and then take a screen shot of it and print it out. When I get to where I want to fly, I look at my picture and do the best I can to match up the waypoints.

You can hit 16 waypoints. At each waypoint you can control the altitude the waypoint is at. You can also control the speed and nose direction between each waypoint. You can also do default waypoints such as a circle or arch if you want to film around the object. Flying via the ground station is a lot of fun but unless you are doing aerial video as well, it gets old fast.