Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Ground power Unit?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Deep6, Jan 3, 2016.

  1. Deep6

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Thornton, CO
    Seems like with all the things that require the bird turned on to do while on the ground; from transferring HD footage to the Ipad, to accessing basic flight settings and parameters or using the simulator. There would be some sort of plug in power adaptor, cycling Lipo's without leaving the ground seems sacrilegious...

    Anyone heard of anything like this? or tried to make one? I guess one could take a worn out batt, and replace the cells with wires to a transformer, or 4... Surely with some basic electronics knowledge it wouldn't be too hard.
     
  2. Daytona

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Port Orange
    Pull the SD card for the video. As for powering up the bird, yes it can be done via a power supply for the main terminals but there is the other set of terminals on the battery that are for data that would have to be accounted for. I suppose you could get a bad battery and just remove cells and use a regulated power supply to provide the voltage/current input but that is a bunch of work. 10min of the battery on wont drain it much as you are not powering up the motors.
     
  3. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    1,401
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    I'd guess that I could run the P3 for 30 minutes on a 30% battery and it would only drain down to 20% or so.

    Personally I use a Nvidia shield or my Galaxy S5 with an OTG cable and USB/SD card reader to transfer files directly to the phone or tablet. Not sure if such a thing works on iOS.
     
  4. Deep6

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Thornton, CO

    Therein lies the problem, IOS...
     
  5. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    d81032965dc30a296817ecee8fd25f10.jpg
     
    Deep6 likes this.
  6. Phantom751874

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    269
    You can mount the SD card to an iOS device with Apple's SD to Lightning adapter.
     
    Deep6 likes this.