Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Ground loop my fault

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Wibble, Sep 3, 2015.

  1. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    Well just had my first crash on takeoff. Entirely my own fault. Too windy and uneven ground .
    Anyway the phantom flipped completely upside down at full throttle. I grabbed it by a skid quickly. It was on soft springy grass.
    All seems fine and it flew fine after. Does anyone think I have done nasty damage to motors or speed controllers?
    I noticed possible jelly problems with the gimbal other day. Totally unrelated to this and was windy on the day. Just mentioning it now so if I ask about it in future people won't throw this post back at me!
     
  2. Kmullins87

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    7
    Your probably fine I've flipped mine twice... just make sure your props are still snug and I'd calibrate the Imu and compass. If your getting some gimbal jelly I'd calibrate that as well
     
  3. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Just turn the props by hand and make sure no grit or dirt got into motors. Doesn't sound as thought it was upside down to long to hurt the ESC's.
     
  4. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    All seems fine. No prop damage at all and motors free and clean.
    Next time I will use a sheet of ply on springy grass NOT just the foam lid of the case. That will teach me to try to impress a girl lol.
     
  5. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I have just checked the video - nasty gusting wind and no sign of the jelly from the last flight.

    On the last flight I went to take off from a bridge. Lots of steel obviously under the deck so it was saying compass error. I moved off the bridge and it flew ok but there was a bit of wobble on the gimbal - maybe the bridge caused the problem.