Greetings from Yorkshire, England

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I thought I'd sign up to this forum and say "Hi!". I recently got my hands on my first Phantom (2) and have been loving it so far. In the past I've only had toy drones: one of those tiny ones that can sit in your hand, a Syma X5 and the Echine knock-off equivalent (much preferred the Echine tbh). I've been working in London as a visual effects artist for the last 5 years but moved to Yorkshire a couple of months ago for an Animation job so Cameras and Drones are two of my favourite things.

My cousin was kind enough to sell me the P2 + Zenmuse H3-3D for a bargain I couldn't refuse and I'm excited to start shooting some footage. I picked up a Gopro H3+ black but had a bunch of problems with it and finally sent it back. In frustration I bought a Xiaomi Yi (just the 1080p version) and have been really impressed so far. Not so much as an unexpected beep and all of my micro SD cards work a charm with it. I don't think it quite has the same quality or capture range but I think it'll do me good as a starting point.

Anyway, I hope to learn lots on these forums and will be sharing some of what I shoot in the future no doubt!

Reactions: dirkclod
Welcome to Phantom Pilots! :)

Reactions: Smashed_Pumpkin
Welcome to the forum Pumpkin,

If you have not already done so, check the CAA rules for flying UAV's.

Flying drones | UK Civil Aviation Authority

To protect yourself in the case of an accident, insurance is a good idea. e.g. (BMFA) British Model Flying Association (UK). Click on the link to view their web site :-

British Model Flying Association

It costs £33 at the time of writing.

You might like to try the following apps.

The first one shows UK airspace and includes NOTAMS.

UK AirspaceAVOID for Pilots – Android Apps on Google Play

And :-

No Fly Drones

If you have any questions just ask, but try doing a search first. Its more than likely it has already been asked.

Enjoy the forum.