Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. DarkEmblem

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did the latest update on my p4. Calibrated imu and compass.
    Then flew it. After 2 min into the flight. I had some green trash on my fpv. All up till i landed. Also, im seeing a weak transmission signal on my status. I never flew very var. atleast only 50 ft away.

    Whats going on? ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1466079046.741224.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1466079056.474654.jpg
     
  2. dukesxm

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also experienced this same phenomenon for a brief moment while flying, but then it went away!
    Not sure if it had anything to do with the optimal transmission zone between controller and aircraft.
    [ Phantom_4_User_Manual_en_v1.2_160328.pdf––Page 34]
    I flew at that time somewhat unaware of this fact!
     
  3. Ron Armour

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    You can get this effect with a iPad mini ......not fast enough to keep an up to date image. Go to an iPad mini 2,3,4.
     
  4. Jetmanjo

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have had this same issue out of the box using my P4 with my iPhone 6+. The green is temporary but at times the screen will freeze for several seconds. A little un-nerving as It has happened from my first flight through my 12'th flight. I am going to try a flight using a different usb/iPhone cable and see if that helps any. Also my range seems to be pretty poor. Maybe 1/4 mile at best. I am open to any other suggestions. It also happens with my Ipad Air, so it is not just my phone, but I used the same cable previously. I will post my findings after I use a different cable.
     
    DarkEmblem likes this.
  5. Ron Armour

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    I have read of several people reporting a similar issue in the last few days. I see a flicker randomly since getting my new P4 a few days ago.....with the latest updates and calibration. None of it show up in the video so it appears to be a RC problem.
     
  6. dukesxm

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Ron Armour

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    You should not have to be forced to upgrade. I think this will get fixed. I changed my channel to custom today and lowered the video rate to 4. Got no video glitches and the pic quality was fine. Did not check range as I never fly very far.
     
    DarkEmblem likes this.
  8. DarkEmblem

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Atleast we are all having this kind of issue. Already emaled dji about it. Waiting for the reply. I hope its only a fw issue. I only updated the the fw coz it fixes the squeak from the gimbal during startup. Now im having this problem. I shouldve just stayed with the previous fw
     
  9. DarkEmblem

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im curently using an ipad mini 2
     
  10. dronejunkyev

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yeah had his issue with iPad mini.. Switched to mini 2 and it went away.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. DarkEmblem

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Fixed it. Updated the ipad mini 2
     
  12. JWarren

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    119
    I've never had the issue (knock on wood), but then again I've never updated the firmware on my aircraft.
     
  13. Dpanetta

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Y e a, I am having the same issue too. One more thing I observed is when going to the channel selection screen in the DJI app, it seems that the channel strength is bouncing all over the place. I too placed an email to DJI support. Has anyone received a reply to this issue yet?
     
  14. AnthonyM1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sheboygan, WI
    same here, went out today and flew 700' away at around 50' up and wala....saw the green screen but was able to turn around and regain the screen. Ipad Mini 4 128gb, 4g
     
  15. tevek

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Hmm had the same problem the first time I flew any sort of distance and read on this forum that moving back from 4K to 1080 30fps and lowering the bit rate to 4mbs. Tried that suggestion and have had no issues. Figured that my iPhone 6 (based on other comments in this forum) was also a culprit in all of this and bought an iPhone 6 Plus, used the supplied cable, reverted to the 4K settings and have had no issues at all. I'm not interested in any long distance or height records but I routinely fly at approximately 100 mtrs high and 500mtrs out and it is doing the job. Me thinks it is the iPhone 6 standard phone.