Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GPS

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by Cajvol94, Jul 2, 2014.

  1. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    How high off the ground does it need to be for the gps to kick in. I get it up 3-5ft and it still wants to drift?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: GPS

    I can't get the GPS hold to work. I calibrated the compass and have both switches up. I can switch from gps to Atti and I can't tell the difference. Both seem very drifty. Any advice?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. syotr

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    134
    Re: GPS

    Is it drifting in a straight line in the direction of the wind or is it circling? Does it stop after moving it or keep going in the direction it was travelling?
    With GPS it may circle a bit (toilet bowl effect) but should settle down. Atti will drift in a straight line with the wind and also continue drifting when you let go of the sticks.
    Connect to the NAZA assistant software and check that your switches are working. You might want to do an advanced calibration and then compass calibration before you fly it again.
     
  4. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: GPS

    It seems to drift in all directions. I keeping it low 6-8f max and it feels very unstable in GPS. I'll try the advanced calibration.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. jerrymac12000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Re: GPS

    Somewhere in the manual, it says 10 meters away from you and 10 meters high. That is if you have done the compass dance correctly.
     
  6. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: GPS

    Ok. No matter what range I get it 3'-10' it continues to drift weather in gps or Atti mode.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Re: GPS

    in gps it can still drift as much as a few feet side to side.
     
  8. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: GPS

    Am I correct. If you have it in GPS mode it should hover within a 3' or so area?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: GPS

    It's more than a few. I can go left to right and it will continue to drift and pretty much does the same in Atti mode.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. jerrymac12000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Re: GPS

    I said meters, not feet. A meter equals about 39 inches. Make sure both the S1 and S2 switches are in the UP position. Unless the switch settings have been changed the GPS system should function correctly.
     
  11. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: GPS

    So like what ive seen on vids etc.... It won't just sit there and hover within a 5-6' area? Also I've noticed while flying I'll get a series of slow blinking green and a blinking red will pop in there so often what's that mean? I looked and couldn't figure that out?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. jerrymac12000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Re: GPS

    What is the sequence of the red and green lights?
     
  13. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: GPS

    From what I see. 4-5 green then 1 red. It may go another 10-15 green blinks then another red. I tried to pay more attention but the GPS hold isn't working right as in drifting all over the place. Seems to drift more to the right. I do have the prop guards and string as I'm not that confident and glad I had them today!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. jerrymac12000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Re: GPS

    All green lights on take off? Are there any yellow lights in the sequence?
     
  15. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: GPS

    Yes from what I can tell all green at take off. In start up I get some yellow blinks from what I remember??? The red starts from what I see in flight and continues to blink here and there until I stop.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  16. syotr

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    134
    Re: GPS

    if the GPS does not see enough satellites, it will automatically switch to ATTI mode. If you get occasional red lights, then you have less than six satellites. Have you tried launching in other areas?
    If you have crashed hard, it may have broken the GPS antenna inside.
     
  17. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: GPS

    No hard crashes as i only have been 5-8' in the air and using the prop guards


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  18. Wedeliver

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Tionesta, California
    Re: GPS

    Sometimes when I first start flying the quad will drift quite a bit maybe 10' from one side to another. So I fly around slowly, raising up to maybe 40' or 50' off the ground and flying back and forth, then I bring it back in close to me and it has always settled down and will hover just fine. Try that and let me know if it helps. It seems that after going through that process I do not have to do it again. The next battery and when I take off it hovers fine. Just happens to me at the first take off.
     
  19. jerrymac12000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Re: GPS

    It seems to be coming down to; not getting far enough away from you to establish actual GPS coordinates, 40-50 feet above and out the same distance, magnetic interference, (any cell phone towers near you), or switchs not in the correct position. The other option may be that you are losing a satalite lock after take off. What are the wind conditions during the flight? If GPS lock is established, the quad will attempt to maintain a horizontal hold in about a 4-10 foot radius. Otherwise, there may be a larger horizontal shift. If GPS lock is established and the winds are strong, the quad will return to the position before the winds moved it.
     
  20. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: GPS

    heres my start off sequence is it correct?

    starts of with a series of 1 green blink and 3 yellow blinks, repeats about 3-4 times
    then a series of rapid flashing green lights about 10 times
    then 1 green 2 yellow
    then 1 green 1 yellow and a series of rapid green lights 8-10 times
    finally a green flash every 2-3 seconds