Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GPS Tracker?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by storm_333, Feb 25, 2014.

  1. storm_333

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone use a GPS tracker on their phantom? I quite like the thought of the extra security in case of a fly away or (more likely :roll: ) pilot error. Can anyone recommend a decent piece of kit available in the uk?
     
  2. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    There are hundreds of posts on this. Just put gps tracker in the search box
     
  3. Mossie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Leeds UK
    Yes, I bought a tracker from Amazon, this one

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Vehicle-Tracker ... B00CXMRGN2

    I haven't figured what SIM card to get for it yet, if anybody can recommend one I'd appreciate it. I've noticed it has some magnets in it for attaching to metal work which I think I'll have to remove to reduce weight, also magnets might cause interference !!!
     
  4. storm_333

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'd be very interested to know how you got on removing the magnets, and how you mounted it to the Phantom.
     
  5. Skipholiday

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    The magnets are attached to the eXtra removable battery door on most models.

    You can use an H20wireless sim. They have a 10 dollar plan that's good for 90 days.
    Many take the gps out of the plastic case to lighten it and wrap it in shrink.
    Or you can take the board out and drill many holes in the case to lighten it.
    Weight is about 50 grams stock. I've posted many pictures on this same model.
     
  6. Mossie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Leeds UK
    I haven't done anything with it yet because I haven't found a suitable UK sim yet. If anybody in the UK has found a good deal please let me know.
     
  7. Seahorse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    I have seen something that suggests it doesn't work with a 3g Sim, but I can't find it! I will blow a tenner on an O2 one on the weekend and see what happens.

    Here's the setup & install guide for the minute to keep you busy.
     
  8. Mossie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Leeds UK
    I was thinking of getting that PocketFinder. It seems to be simpler to set up and is linked to EE which has the best coverage.