Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

gps question

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by skyhighdiver, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    so after installing my flytrex and using the y cable ( which does not have lock clips ins for the plug in ends except the flytrex board end) which is weird why would all the ends not have lock in connectors.

    Anyway I've noticed my gps was dropping out on the app when I touch the top of the the phantom or even put hand close to it on top is this normal ? ,or have I done something when installing the flytrex.

    I notice the icon goes from blue to gray on the app and drops to 3,4 or sometimes it goes to 0
    when I move my hand it comes back to blue and sats show 9
    I still have camera control and shows 9 sats locked until I get hand near top.
    I never noticed it dropping out before when doing this but maybe it did
    anyone elses do this ? I don't want to fly until im sure as don't want a fly away
    and yes I know the gps is on top but cant remember it doing this before
     
  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    I don't tend to handle the aircraft after its got a lock, just fly. Having said that I haven't noticed a change in sensitivity before or after the Flytrex installation. It will lose lock on the rare occasion I do a compass dance during the vertical rotation, but other than that I haven't noticed anything untoward.
     
  3. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota

    I have had no problem either just was noticing it when bench testing after install.
    I flew last night all worked well, just didn't remember it ever cutting out like that before
    by the way it was -14 F and -26F with wind chill wonder if we need a flytrex badge for coldest and warmest flown in :)
     
  4. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Brrr, I thought my range testing done yesterday in a chilly breeze and +46F was cold enough without gloves on!
     
  5. MrTommy

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Holy Crap! I was complaining the other day because I went out to fly and it was 38°. Guess I'll shut up!

    I'm just hooking up my Flytrex today, so I'll see if I have any 'funny business' showing up. Got a 4-5 day RV trip to a nearby lake/campground planned where I intend to do a lot of flying. Of course, now all of a sudden they're forecasting rain for most of that time. Grrr. :x

    How about a Flytrex badge for flying in torrential downpours? No huh . . . :lol: