Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

gps question?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by abjonesiii, Apr 25, 2014.

  1. abjonesiii

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I searched a bit and haven't found a direct answer here nor in the manual. Please forgive me if this is obviously stated somewhere.

    I am preparing to take the plunge with a vision+. It will be my first quad capable of traveling further than I can see and my first quad with GPS.

    My question is: Since the vision+ is GPS enabled does that mean if it crashes that that same GPS can be used to locate it or do I still have to go the additional GPS tracker route?

    Thank you
    Albert
     
  2. pyrophantom

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    There is a "find my phantom" gps feature - should be mentioned in the manual tho, sure it is.

    ;)
     
  3. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Assuming after your crash that a) The aircraft still has power and the GPS is functioning, and b) You still have a connection between the Phantom & your Wi-Fi extender, then yes you can use the 'Find My Phantom" selection in the app to show its position on a map.

    Your "2nd GPS" question. I assume you are talking about the Flytrex hardware, that gives your Phantom a "black box" log of flight parameters? That records flight data, but it is not a GPS in and of itself, nor does it broadcast the Phantom's location. If I have misunderstood what you meant please clarify.
     
  4. abjonesiii

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank guys that answered my question perfectly.
     
  5. neoneo

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    do you have to calibrate and rotate the plus every time you turn it on to get GPS or just the first time?
     
  6. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    You mean compass calibration? No effect on GPS.
     
  7. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    Wow... that's not how I understand that function at all... If the phantom crashes off in the distance and the battery falls out... it marks it's last spot ... then you use find my phantom and connect to your cell data to use Google maps... The phantom is the pin and you are the blue dot...

    [​IMG]
     
  8. neoneo

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    ok i just checked the video again: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ItFBLPlsHc0

    the clicking of the right stick 8-10 times and rotating it is just calibration. how often do you have to calibrate it. I've seen video's that say every flight.
     
  9. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    right switch
     
  10. neoneo

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    does anyone know if you can change the home point.
     
  11. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    You mean compass calibration? You should do it any time you have changed your geographic location by a significant amount (I'd say >20 miles), or if the Phantom begins to behave erratically. i.e. Not flying straight or holding position in GPS mode.
     
  12. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    DBS I stand corrected! You are right. Never actually used that feature but I just went to it and sure enough it shows my Phantom's last position when I landed her in the parking lot of Chesapeake High School earlier today. Very cool that it is linking itself this way. :cool:
     
  13. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    Phantom 2 Vision User manual V1.16 Page 33 (Don't know P2V+ manual)
     
  14. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    having had a phantom vision 2 since December and making over 100 flights I can tell you the phantom only needs to be
    calibrated
    1. if you move locations many miles,
    2. if flashing led lights tell you it is needed see manual
    3 any more often is asking for trouble! (don't mess with a good thing)

    The biggest problem I thing in many of these issues is not waiting till you have Full Sat /home lock
    Patience is a vertue

    ;) ;)
     
  15. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota

    It shows the last known position transmitted via wifi to the app
    This can be miles away from were it actually is but is a good starting point
     
  16. neoneo

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    thank you but what i meant was the home point for the failsafe. I was planning on shooting a video flying the phantom + to my dads house a few miles away while i get driven there in a car (following the drone of course). When I get there i'll have around 8 to 10 minutes of more flying to do. I'd hate to loose signal and it starts to fly back to my house. that's why i was trying to change the home point.
     
  17. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    I guess you need to wait for the software upgrade (if it ever comes?), with Ground Station functionality.
     
  18. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    The best way to do this just take it off where you want your home point to be
    land it do not shut off take it in the car to your dads place take off set it at a safe altitude turn the controller off and it will fly back to where you took off from I have done this personally from over 2 miles away makes a nice smooth video make sure the Phantom is fully charged and that there are no obstacles higher than the altitude you set it at when you get to your dads remember it's flying straight-line not following roads
    Also make sure that your dad is up wind so that the Phantom can fly downwind home or otherwise do it on a no-wind day
     
  19. neoneo

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    the reason i'm flying it to my dads is to take the video of the trip there. my front door to his. i'd be pretty cool for the video to start at my front door and end up at his watching him water the law and waving to it. i guess i'll just land it and turn it off and on again. no biggie. i just have to find out which android update to use with my galaxy s4 38, 39, or 40
     
  20. neoneo

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    i found it in the manual page 26. just move the left Stick (S2) from position 1 (up) to position 3 (all the way down) and back to position 1 five times ("or more") rapidly to mark a new "Home point". Thanks you guys. I'm up to page 26 in the manual. I will read every word of these manuals. But it's gonna take time lol