Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GPs problem

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Steverowley, Sep 17, 2016.

  1. Steverowley

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    why does my phantom 3 standard keep coming up with error gps after it's been flying for about 5 mins and loses camera signal?
     
  2. Ben Sandwith

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    How many satellites does it show when this happens?
     
  3. Neon Euc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    208
    Are you flying over buildings and houses? The WiFi can play havoc with the standard as that uses WiFi too

    Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Steverowley

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it was over grassland and trees and it was showing 8 satellites


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  5. Techcop50

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Aiken, SC, USA
    The GPS chip and antenna is dead center on top. You don't have anything blocking it, do you? (Even metallic paint could be a problem)
     
  6. Steverowley

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that, do you mean on the top centre of the control box? I've checked that and it seems clear but had a sticker on it saying what s1 does ?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  7. Steverowley

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Techcop50

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Aiken, SC, USA
    On the top of the Aircraft, dead center.
     
  9. Steverowley

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh no there's nothing on there


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  10. Techcop50

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Aiken, SC, USA
    Are you flying with an open sky (above the trees, etc)?
    I know my GPS signal varies quite a bit with trees, leaves, and atmospheric conditions. Plus the Standard doesn't have Glonass, just standard GPS (less satellites).
    You might try a different location, too. I've found a couple of spots that just SUCK for signal quality, for whatever reason. I avoid them now.
     
  11. Steverowley

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thank you for your help, but it also landed and toppled over would that of done any damage?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  12. Techcop50

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Aiken, SC, USA
    I've had that happen twice, when it was landing near me. Made a hell of a screech and a burning smell before I could get the motors powered down, but no permanent damage. That was many months ago. I wouldn't think it would damage the GPS, if that's what you are asking. But who knows?
     
  13. Steverowley

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks for your help, I will try a couple of different places and see.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  14. Techcop50

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Aiken, SC, USA
    If it continues regardless of location, it almost has to be a problem with the drone and/or controller. Good luck!

    One more thought: Do you carry anything with you that might generate interference? I saw a post one time about a guy using his cell phone as to take videos of his controller and his drone kept disconnecting when he brought the two close together...
    You could try an different monitor device, too. (Borrow the wife's phone, if she is like my wife, she's got the latest and greatest!) ;)
     
    #14 Techcop50, Sep 20, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2016
  15. Steverowley

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. Steverowley

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi sorry I didn't reply but I think I have sorted it I calibrated the gimbal properly this time and took it up in the same location and it seemed fine, but thanks for your help


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  17. julien92

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    France
    Calibrated the IMU you would propably mean ? Gimbal has no relationship with GPS I think.

    Sent from my SM-G930F using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. Vzr1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    42
    Where did you get all your little stickers.?
     
  19. solentlife

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    UK Brit living Latvia
    Glonass in fact - I live and work with Russians, my work involves professional use of GPS as well as my other full size yachting ... Glonass is limited and subject to Russian Military re-alignment dependent on theatre of ops they are involved with. Having Glonass capability unless you are in full Glonass area is not an advantage in fact.
    GPS (a generic term actually as its just been accepted to mean USA Satelite Position Indication System) since SA was switched of by Presidential decree has enjoyed greater accuracy ... bringing it into the 3 - 10m raange instead of the older SA days of wandering anywhere 100 ... 300m from real position.

    GPS despite claims to the contrary is not as accurate as people think and it is not relevant to use Military smart bomb videos to prove otherwise - as they are are using a parallel Sat signal as well as the 'commercial' which is unique to them.

    Just thought I'd mention a few facts about SatNav. (I left out Galileo - the European system as thats still plagued with problems - mainly 'political').

    Nigel