GPS only locking to five satellites

Reaction score
Hello there.

Newbie here.

Have had the P2V+ for nearly three weeks. All went well until Wednesday last. When I achieved GPS lock, each time I put the Phantom on the ground to take off, the lights changed from flashing green to flashing yellow, and I was only locked to five satellites.

I can achieve GPS lock after the horizontal calibration (solid green light) but after the vertical it goes back to flashing yellow lights - and five satellites.

I have updated the firmware, calibrated the IMU, etc to no avail.

Everything else is working perfectly. This is happening even in areas where there are no buildings, etc.

Any help appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

V.

I have had a lot less success locking onto GPS sats since upgrading from the Phantom 1.1.1 to the P2V+ -- sometimes it doesn't lock at all in areas where the P1 would lock on sats right away.

I've sat there for more than 10 minutes at time waiting for seven sats, before just throwing it into atti so I could actually fly.

vadrefjord said:
Hello there.

Newbie here.

Have had the P2V+ for nearly three weeks. All went well until Wednesday last. When I achieved GPS lock, each time I put the Phantom on the ground to take off, the lights changed from flashing green to flashing yellow, and I was only locked to five satellites.

I can achieve GPS lock after the horizontal calibration (solid green light) but after the vertical it goes back to flashing yellow lights - and five satellites.

V.

try this web site,

http://satpredictor.navcomtech.com/

I have found there is a window of around 1 to 2 hours when, in my part of the world (Portugal)
I will only have 5 sats.

Also, my theory is, IF the K-Index is high as well, then even if you have, say, 7 sats,
the solar activity could knock that count down.

http://www.swpc.noaa.gov/rt_plots/kp_3d.html

Only my theory so far, but been checking the results from the satellite predictor against my TomTom 1,