Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GPS mode not working

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by mbarnhar, Apr 13, 2014.

  1. mbarnhar

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have the Phantom 1. Flies just fine in manual mode....have flown it a lot already. But its never worked in GPS mode. It shows its in GPS mode when I plug into NAZA Asst and toggle the switch back & forth, etc. When turning on the Phantom to ready it for flight, I only get 1 green, then 3 red flashes (and repeat). Not more than 3 red flashes, indicating its not getting satellites' GPS signal (since it requires 4-5 or more red flashes to operate in GPS mode).

    What should I do?
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Where are you turning the Phantom on to check this...indoors?

    How long are you waiting after you turn it on and see the green/red/red/red flashes for it to acquire more satellites? Sometimes it takes several minutes for that to complete...it's not always instant as soon as you turn it on.
     
  3. Dalite

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA. USA
    You are looking for a decrease in red flashes, not an increase.

    It may take a few minutes before the red flashes go from 3 to 2, then to 1 and finally to a low green pulse.

    There should be at least 1 multiple green flash sequence to show that Home Lock has been achieved.

    If you are not able to get GPS lock within 5 minutes, it may be possible that the Ceramic antenna that the GPS uses is cracked and needs replacing.
     
  4. mbarnhar

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I turn the Phantom on outdoors to check for GPS mode.

    I thought when turning it on, you had to wait for >3 red flashes (not less) to indicate that satelittes have lined up to the Phantom and its ready for GPS mode flight. If I have to wait 5 minutes or more, won't the battery have used half its charge already?

    The antenna doesnt appear cracked.
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    No, ideally you want NO red flashes for GPS indicator...the more red flashes, the less satellites it has locked. Ideally you want to get to no red flashes (which means >6 have been locked).

    Waiting a few minutes on the ground for a proper GPS lock doesn't drain your battery anywhere near as much as flying for that amount of time does. When the motors are running, they draw 10x the power of just the onboard electronics.
     
  6. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    +1 to Ol Photogs' suggetion - on average it's a wait time of anywhere from 1:30 to 2:30mins. I've had it go as long as 3 mins (on really overcast day)
     
  7. mbarnhar

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, good to know....thank you. I'll let you know what happens. Its going to be a few days before I fly it again due to weather conditions. Thanks!
     
  8. Seahorse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK