Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GPS mode missing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Audaciter, May 30, 2013.

  1. Audaciter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    DJI has done it again.

    I was just upgrading the firmware, and Naza Assistant software , and GPS is no longer a choice, ATTI now replaces it.

    I'm sure it's a typo, as when I flew afterwards it was in GPS mode, but you would think they would try to be a little
    more PROFESSIONAL.

    It's not very confidence inspiring when you are programming something that has the ability to fly away, when they make
    such basic stupid mistakes.

    Perhaps Colin Guinn should either okay it himself, or have some other ENGLISH speaking person very familiar with the product
    do so.
     
  2. tanasit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can you be more specific because I just couldn't find what you're referring to in the Assistant?
     
  3. Audaciter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    It was the weirdest thing ! In the Naza M V-2 Assistant version 2.12
    In the "Basic" tab "RC" the "Control Mode Switch" setting had no "GPS"

    It started with ATTI - Fail Safe - ATTI and the drop down menu with Manual, ATTI, or Fail Safe.

    That was this afternoon, around 6:30 pm.
    I just connected again, a few minutes ago, and everything is the way it should be, but I had to reset some of my end points
    to make the selected items turn blue.

    It was too bizarre. I'm glad it's back to normal.
     
  4. GearLoose

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same experience... no GPS mode option.

    I don't recall how I solved it but in the end it proved to be related (as usual) to operator error (me) combined with fuzzy instructions (DJI). :?:
     
  5. Audaciter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    was it directly after downloading the Naza Assistant, before rebooting your computer ?

    I think that may have been the difference for me. I found it was normal again after I rebooted the computer.
     
  6. GearLoose

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I'm pretty sure it was the first time I used the Assistant. It is also possible that I re-booted during that first encounter with the Assistant. But, my memory is quite hazy on the details.

    FYI, I'm using VMWare on a 2007 MacBook.
     
  7. Audaciter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    I have a Mac also, running Windows 7 through BootCamp.
     
  8. tvpopta

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I had the GPS mode fail on me once; removed the GPS/compass connector on the compass, and put it back tight. I presume it was related to the connector.