Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GPS mod idea

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by FedeVision, Apr 16, 2014.

  1. FedeVision

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    Could it be a good idea to move the gps out of the shell and place it outside on top, keeping the magnetic shield as it is?
    Maybe better satellites signal, better hover?
    Too risky?
     
  2. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    not worth it
     
  3. FedeVision

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    Last shot, what about drilling like 3 to 5 1/4" holes on top of shell, separated in circular shape, and covered with thin transparent tape to avoid dust, keeping everything else as it is?
     
  4. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,916
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    The shell is not impeding the quality of the GPS signal. You won't gain anything by doing it.
     
  5. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    If you're trying to improve your GPS signal you could replace your std GPS "puck" with a NAZA V2 GPS/Compass combo (eliminating your remote compass) You'll get signal lock faster but drawback it sells for $200.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. UKKey

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's a great idea for solving the nightmare compass on the leg. Is it plug and play into the P2?
     
  7. arun21

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would be very curious about this too.
     
  8. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I haven't seen it used on a P2 yet, but it should be fine...uses the same port, etc as on the P1.
     
  9. NYRangers99

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Westchester County NY
    I thought about this also thinking it would be better outside...but I saw a video of a guy with a f550 with the Naza on it…he was getting TBE on take off and that was from 2012…not sure of that means anything…I just ordered the F550 frame, plan on building one myself, wondering if I should use a different gps system or if this problem is just effecting phantoms