Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GPS issues

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by general01, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi folks

    Today I flew the phantom and even with a clear sky I still got the double red flash

    I know its affected by the environment but this is not right as it was a clear sky during both flights

    Is it possible the GPS antenna is bad?

    I know it came from us hobby in California to me here in Tennessee but I doubt that the transit could have damaged it(not sure yet)

    I wonder if using a external GPS antenna will work
     
  2. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    What have you done prior to the flight?

    Do the compass dance
    Use the software to do an advanced imu calibration while it is plugged in
    Go outside, turn on the remote, make sure both switches are on the up position.
    plug the battery, do not move the phantom.

    Wait.
    You should get to a blinking green light only.
    If not, wait.

    Don't fly it until you get the single green light.
     
  3. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    The only thing in the list I haven't done is the Imu calibration everything else is spot on

    I made the mistake of taking off before I got the blinking green light for the home lock

    I landed and redid the take off after I got the flashing green

    Though my GPS signal still only reads 5 sats most of the time(did get 6 once) as I get the double red flashes (every flight has been with clear days with no clouds in sight and no wind
     
  4. antpoli

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    check with your phone how many satellites can be "attached"/seen and keep in mind something US army introduces errors in GPS (on android there is a very good app: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... ss.gpstest)
     
  5. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have a ios device(iPhone 5)
     
  6. antpoli

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think also on iOS you can find such app "GPStest"
     
  7. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4

    found it thanks

    now to figure out the drifting issue i have(its wated to drift for the last two flights)and i will be all set

    odd thing is no i can't adjust the hight and distance limits everything else is ok(i think)