Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GPS Issues

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Help' started by campingtomz, Apr 21, 2015.

  1. campingtomz

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hey guys im trying to figure out whats up with my GPS i had some advice from some members on here, but im making a post to try and get more.
    Issue:
    the QuadCopter starts up and goes through all the correct Pre-Flight configuration. the lights blink correctly,
    then it settles and just blinks red and yellow. in the manual this means a GPS error.

    Troubleshooting steps i have taken:
    Attempt Calibration with Transmitter, flick the switch back and forth 6-10 times, and pivoit/turn on the axis until light is solid green. Yay that seems to have worked.
    power down and repower the drone and it is back to Yellow and red lights. (this is in the same location in a field)

    OK that didnt work, so i took the drone apart and make sure the connections where all good. everything looked connected well, so i dont think that is the issue.

    Next thing i did was Plug it into my computer and use the Naza software to trouble shoot it. I get an error (gps2.Png) saying that the GPS not calibrated. there are no magnetic fields around it.
    I checked the GPS information in the Upgrade secition (GPS.PNG), there is no Loader information, idk if this is normal or not.
    Looking in the View\basic\Mounting seciton , GPS location as the x,y and z as 0. (GPS5.PnG) im still really new to these devices so im not sure if that is normal or not.

    any advice or reading material would be very useful.

    if any more information is needed let me know
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,632
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Had it been doing ok before this /
    If so have you had any crashes/hard tip overs /
    When in assistant did ya do an advanced IMU calibration..not sure if that would make any difference or not but did ya ?
     
  3. campingtomz

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Im not the original owner. the previous owner mentioned it wasnt working right so i assumed it may be messed up
     
  4. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,632
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Well it might be possible the antenna on top of the GPS puck is cracked . Did ya check that when ya had it opened up ?
     
  5. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,632
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
  7. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,632
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Well I see ya reading campingtomz...have ya checked all these things ?
     
  8. campingtomz

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    i havent checked to see if the disk is cracked yet. i did have it apart and looked at it. it didnt seem to be broken, ill take a look at it when i get a chance. i Ran "tools\advanced" Advanced Cali and got this error, (GPS4,PNG)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    That temp to high thing is a known glitch/bug in the software that can be totally ignored and just click ok or yes on that and continue on with the IMU calibration