Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

gps coordinates

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Seabass, Jul 9, 2015.

  1. Seabass

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    Does anyone know if there is a way you can find out the gps coordinates of the phantom when the video is replayed?
     
    dalebb likes this.
  2. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    Absolutely. Load the video with the srt file. I used vlc player. You will need to enable subtitle/overlays etc
     
    #2 30secs, Jul 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2015
    Buckaye and mzgm like this.
  3. Gregg Smith

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    The SRT Files get recorded to your memory card where the video files are recorded to.

    Here's an example of the content. You can open with any text reader. The file extension is .SRT. I had to change to .TXT to upload an example. You'll also see the camera settings for ISO, Shutter, EV and the Fnum for the lens, 2.8.

    1
    00:00:01,000 --> 00:00:02,000
    HOME(-97.7736,30.3227) 2015.06.23 19:42:35
    GPS(-97.7737,30.3227,15) BAROMETER:1.8 ULTRASONIC:2.6
    ISO:100 Shutter:3200 EV:-2/3 Fnum:F2.8

    2
    00:00:02,000 --> 00:00:03,000
    HOME(-97.7736,30.3227) 2015.06.23 19:42:35
    GPS(-97.7737,30.3227,15) BAROMETER:1.8 ULTRASONIC:2.6
    ISO:100 Shutter:3200 EV:-2/3 Fnum:F2.8

    3
    00:00:03,000 --> 00:00:04,000
    HOME(-97.7736,30.3227) 2015.06.23 19:42:36
    GPS(-97.7737,30.3227,15) BAROMETER:1.7 ULTRASONIC:2.4
    ISO:100 Shutter:3200 EV:-2/3 Fnum:F2.8

    4
    00:00:04,000 --> 00:00:05,000
    HOME(-97.7736,30.3227) 2015.06.23 19:42:37
    GPS(-97.7737,30.3227,15) BAROMETER:1.7 ULTRASONIC:2.7
    ISO:100 Shutter:3200 EV:-2/3 Fnum:F2.8

    5
    00:00:05,000 --> 00:00:06,000
    HOME(-97.7736,30.3227) 2015.06.23 19:42:38
    GPS(-97.7737,30.3227,15) BAROMETER:1.8 ULTRASONIC:2.8
    ISO:100 Shutter:3200 EV:-2/3 Fnum:F2.8
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    wow thanks! I never knew that!
     
  5. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando

    Do you know what the whole number delineate besides just the sequence? (the 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)
     
  6. Seabass

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks a bunch:) i will give it a try later and see if i can figure it out.:cool:
     
  7. Gregg Smith

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You have to turn on the Video Caption under the FN settings in the Camera mode of the Pilot App.
     
  8. Seabass

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    For the life of me I can't figure it out. I am not the most tech savvy. So I have a samsung pro tab I use to replay the video. I take the SD card out of the phantom after recording and put it in the tablet to watch the video. So how am I able to pause the video and find out the coordinates of the phantom at that time. I don't know what a txt. File is or srt. Is. Thanks for everyone's help on here I know I am a idiot when it comes to some of this stuff.
     
  9. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    Seabass.. Can you view it on a computer or does it have to be a tablet? If you turn in video caption settings in the app, a recording of the video should include an SRT file as well, which contains the info you are looking for.
     
  10. Gregg Smith

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    As far I as I know, you can't see it on your tablet. You have to use your computer with a video player that supports subtitles like VLC Player.
     
  11. Gregg Smith

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    No I don't. I'm guessing they are just progression markers. They always start a 1 for each new recording.
     
  12. Gregg Smith

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I downloaded and ran the VLC player and was able to see the subtitles, although the video didn't really play as you'd expect. Maybe some settings I need to adjust but here's a pic of what displays.

    upload_2015-7-12_11-57-58.png
     
    Seabass likes this.
  13. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    I saw the same thing. Would be cool if there was an add on that displayed a map. If someone knows please chime in!
     
  14. dalebb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca.
    Is there anyway to get the GPS off the tablet as the drone and card are at the bottom of the lake and sure would like to find it.
     
  15. Willie Swyer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    Maybe slightly off topic but when using this subtitle file does it automatically sync correctly if you have edited the original video. How do we know that the displayed info is accurate for that moment in time.
     
  16. Gregg Smith

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Don't believe the GPS coord will be on the tablet, but if you had an accurate map cached or enabled, you can see where it went down. Not sure that will help. If you do fly over water a lot though, they make a cool retrieval buoy system, Sorry doesn't help now but can help for those that this hasn't happened to yet.
     
  17. dalebb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca.
    Not only do I have it now, I have two.
    20150712_172622.jpg 20150712_172636.jpg
     
  18. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,446
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    It only syncs up properly with the original video. Save your originals, and make copies for editing. It will sync up correctly to the point where you made your first change to the original. Once you edit out any part or change the speed, unless you make the identical edit to the associated .SRT file, which would be a workaround, it will lose sync.
     
    Willie Swyer likes this.