Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Got My P3A!! Should I update firmware?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by FlyingTwinkie, Jan 26, 2016.

  1. FlyingTwinkie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    Got my P3A last Thursday. I have yet to fly, but I did power it up and have a look around the DJI Go app, and I also spun up the motors. The app is telling me to update the firmware. I have:

    App 2.5.1
    Remote Controller 1.4.30
    Aircraft 1.4.10

    Since the motors spun up, I assume that this firmware is pre-Geo (I'm in a yellow Authorisation Zone according to the maps on the DJI site), which seems convenient to me. Should I update to the latest version? Or should I stick with what I've got now. Were there any catastrophic issues with 1.4.10 that have since been addressed?

    The P3A is nestled inside a new Nanuk 950 DJI case, and my Nvidia Shield K1 should be here tomorrow, so I hope to be up in the air soon. :)

    Cheers.
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  2. 185EZ

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    84
    .
     
    #2 185EZ, Jan 26, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
  3. lenmcgilvary

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Calgary Canada
    Upgrade


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Eric Greenwood

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm also on 1.4.10, but I haven't updated just for the sole fact I haven't had any problems with my current setup. Am interested to see what the experts say on here though. I'm in Los Angeles and there would be a whole lot of NFZ's i would have to worry about.
     
  5. RadRich

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    84
    Received my P3A a couple weeks ago and never did the firmware upgrade. Flies just fine. Not sure which FW version I have, but it's the P3A is a newer model with the updated shell.
     
  6. FlyingTwinkie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    Forgive my newbie ignorance, but what is the "updated shell"?

    Cheers.
     
  7. FlyingTwinkie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thank you for sharing your opinion. Would you mind telling me why you suggest doing so vs not?

    Cheers.
     
  8. TrynFlyn

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    42
    No need to rush to update the FW. There are no issues with 1.4.1. A battery FW update in 1.6.4 related to cold weather.

    Fly what you have, take some time and research the pros and cons of updating.

    IMO - the GEO thing is not a big deal. Most of us tend to fly by the rules anyway, there are very few true NFZ's - I don't want to fly in one. Everything else is a authorization zone, simple to authorize.
     
    stoneyb245 likes this.
  9. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    1.4 had a drifting issue with some people. My craft didn't have it, but I have an old motor style craft. I noticed it being a little less stable when hovering, but nothing seriously flawed. I've also flown with 1.6 and it's OK too, but the power is throttled with a governor in that version, which slows down vertical ascents after the battery gets down to about 60%. Don't ever fly 1.5, highly flawed with serious problems in battery voltage readings, creating premature auto-landings at 60%, sometimes worse. Many reports of sudden power shutdown mid-flight, with 1.5. I have deemed it the kiss of death. You can upgrade from 1.4 directly to 1.6 if you're so inclined. Once you upgrade to 1.6, there's no returning to since it's believed (I'm not sure) that you can only go back one version. Some might say to try and go back to 1.3.2 from your 1.4, since it didn't have the drifting issue, however 1.3.2 doesn't have waypoints and POI support.

    I suggest you fly 1.4 an see how you like it. I'm curious how the latest Go app (earlier versions aren't available) works with the older 1.4 firmware (it came out Sept timeframe I think). If the latest Go app doesn't work with the older 1.4 firmware, you'll be forced to upgrade your firmware to 1.6.
     
  10. nix240z

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    40
    I am current on all firmware and have zero issues.
    I picked up 18 satellites today.
     
  11. Phantomfreak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    70
    I'm in 1.6 with many flights and no issues.. My P3 came with 1.4 and it flew fine, but I upgraded to 1.6 because if the battery fix in it.. It was real cold outside, didn't want to have battery voltage issues.. If it's not cold where you are I would say stay with 1.4 for now..
     
  12. RadRich

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    84
    The early models were susceptible to cracks around the motor area. DJI later released an updated/re-enforced body/shell and new motors. It was discussed in this thread: How to tell if you have old shell or new... | DJI Phantom Forum
     
  13. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Personally I would leave it right where it is & go have fun flying. The 1.4 version of the firmware works fine & is what I run on my Advanced & Pro. The battery fix mention applies only if you are running firmware 1.5. 1.4 & below do not have that issue. Only update if you are willing to accept reduced performance & GEO limits. Once you update to 1.6 there is no going back so choose wisely...



     
  14. RadRich

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    84
    You can roll back to v1.5.30.
     
  15. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Rolling back to 1.5 would be worse than updating to 1.6 since you would then be susceptible to the battery shutdown issue. 1.4 performs fine & doesn't have the battery issue.

     
  16. RadRich

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    84
    You can still roll back to 1.4 from 1.5

    You can get the firmware here: Phantom 3 Advanced - Specs, FAQ, Tutorials, Downloads and DJI GO | DJI
     
  17. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
  18. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    So how does a chap choose wisely-- if one fella tells him to go for it-- there are no issues and someone else tells him to never up grade--or you will loose performance??

    Which is the wisest choice? o_Oo_O Does he listen to Dirty Bird or to Nix240Z? Flip a coin? Follow the manufacturer's recommendations? In my humble opinion, follow the manufacturer's recommendations. I have had my P3 from the original preorder date may of 2015 and have upgraded every firmware release. It has always flown well on every FW release. If you upgrade the FW and the Phantom has issues, it is not the firmware, but something wrong in the bird or with the upgrade process. Many failures result from folks not following the up grade instructions exactly and the rest can probably be attributed to electronic issues with the hardware.
     
  19. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    When folks followed the manufacturers update recommendation & upgraded to 1.5, many LOST their aircraft when the batteries shut down mid-flight as a result. My Vision+ still flies with the original 3.00 firmware. I believe the current firmware for a V+ is 3.14. The only thing I lack is being able to set an RTH height (it defaults to 20m), & I don't have the fancy battery graph that forces an auto-landing @ 10%. I can dive @ 4 m/s instead of 2 m/s, & I can fly the battery to 0% if so inclined.

    If you had 1.5 installed on a P3 Pro/Advanced, I'd recommend going back to 1.4, or accept the performance hit & go to 1.6. Just get off 1.5 one way or the other. Windows would love for you to update to Windows 10 so they can do the governments spying work for them & store all your data. But many folks are perfectly content on Windows 7...many businesses still run XP!...because both run fine.

    If an update adds a crucial benefit or alleviates a serious defect, I can see updating. 1.6 addresses the battery issue introduced in 1.5 with a band-aid approach hampering performance. It also brings users a step closer to GEO. The former isn't an issue in 1.4 or lower firmware revisions, & the latter isn't a "benefit."


     
    #19 Dirty Bird, Jan 26, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2016
  20. pyro

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would look at down grading firmware as then not restricted to 500m height