Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gopro3+ FPV setup help

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by dragonash, May 13, 2014.

  1. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I have a gimbal coming which will use the aux cable of the phantom (phantom FC40 btw) to power it.

    I also just got a gopro3+

    I'm looking to use my gopro as an FPV camera for the quad and from what I understand, I will need a 2.4ghz setup due to the FC40 model using 5.8ghz.

    I've been directed to http://www.readymaderc.com/ and it looks like they have good packages and individual items.
    I've also been directed to this
    http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Boscam-T ... 34715.html


    Can someone tell me exactly what I will need to get this setup?

    Please include the types of wires, adapters, shrink wrap...anything! (including LCD's and goggles - just for options)
    I'm looking to go reasonably far, but not crazy things like a mile and stuff.

    This will be my first real project and correcting anything that goes wrong will be an issue since there are no hobby stores near me that can correct my mistakes
     
  2. tpawyant

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Drag!

    I purchased my FPV kit from Readymade RC for my Phantom v1.1.1. This is the exact system I purchased, and I am VERY happy with it:

    http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=4_318&products_id=2066

    The kit includes pretty much everything you need. The one thing that it does not include is the Mini iOSD, I would HIGHLY recommend it. For me, paying $70 for a device that tells me battery volts and distance away is priceless!

    I am not to familiar with your Phantom version you have (if it is based on the phantom 1 or the Phantom 2 model) could change things a bit. If it is based on the Phantom 1, look at my threads, OI Photo was an amazing help in my threads on how to connect everything. I went way beyond what is necessary to keep the weight down, etc.

    If you have any questions, send me a PM....I would be more than happy if I can.
     
  3. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    No, he needs a 2.4GHz FPV setup because the Phantom FC40 use 5.8Ghz as radio control.
     
  4. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    readymaderc got back to me and recommended I use a 1.3ghz setup.


    I..... don't think that's the right option. Mainly because I haven't seen or heard about anyone here using a 1.3ghz option
    Any opinions?
     
  5. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    You can use a 1.3ghz setup, no problem with that.
     
  6. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    is there a range issue?
    Clarity? Interference?

    Any specific reason as to why 2.4 is so popular here?
     
  7. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    2.4ghz its popular for RC control, not image/video downlink.