Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GoPro w/out Waterproof housing

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by rustysd, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. rustysd

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I think the waterproof housing adds unnecessary weight. I would, therefore, like to film without it.

    Anyone know of a solution to attach the GoPro to the Phantom without the heavy waterproof housing?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Is this a serious post? The mount to do exactly that came with your phantom.
     
  3. rustysd

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK- I'll look inside the box - I did not see such a thing. If you could post a pick what it looks like that would be appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  4. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Something like this.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    This does NOT come with the FC40. It has it's own camera with mount.
     
  6. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Ah now we are getting somewhere.
     
  7. rustysd

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah! I knew I wasn't crazy - mine did not have it at all.

    So it is a "serious" question - anyone know where I can get one so my bird will be lighter????
     
  8. BMc

    BMc

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
  9. rustysd

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, BMc - but that only works for the GoPro 2 and I have the Hero 3 - that product would only work with mine with the housing attached which defeats my purpose - the search for this simple attachment continues ...
     
  10. syotr

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    134
     
  11. BMc

    BMc

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Correct, the GoPro H2 mount is $7. Add a small piece of foam gasket to the rear and a GoPro H3 will fit nice and snug. That or go with what quadzilla suggested and buy the overpriced $40 mount made for the H3.
     
  12. rustysd

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Booyah! Thanks!
     
  13. chopperflyer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Leeds West Yorkshire UK
    look on GoPro web site and look at the skeleton housing, you can plug in cable's from the side, it may help and is a bit lighter.