Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GoPro Start/Stop Control

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by rmklaw, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. rmklaw

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    I plan to install a GoPro in the new Phantom 2. How do you start/stop both video and single shot photos while flying (like in the Vision)? Thanks.
     
  2. crazy chris

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    From everything ive read...this will not be possible...sadly

    hope im wrong

    cc
     
  3. rmklaw

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    That would mean that you can not take photos or activate the shutter?
     
  4. crazy chris

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only alternative i can think of would be sending the camera up in "time lapse" mode where it will randomly take a shot every 30 seconds...or whichever time u set it at?

    like i said...i actually hope im wrong... but so far it seems that way

    cc
     
  5. droneranger

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Yes, you need to preset your capture settings on the ground before flight. You can't use the WiFi remote in flight due to RF interference with the flight controls.

    Or, you could try this if you want video and stills at the same time:

    The GoPro HERO3+ Black is capable of shooting video and stills simultaneously without interruption of the video. You can also pick from several different rates at which the stills are taken.
     
  6. crazy chris

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    very cool!

    cc
     
  7. jsansing

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many months ago, DJI said they were going to enable this with the H3-2D. It still has not happened though.
     
  8. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    You better check DJI website - new Phantom with Zenmuse was released about a week ago.
     
  9. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Zenmuse is the same as the one that's been around for 8 months. P2 version just doesn't include the GCU.
    And yes, they have been promising the remote start / stop of video for 8 months. So far, nothing.
     
  10. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
  11. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Unfortunately, the picture quality of the stills when you do simultaneous video and photo is really poor.
     
  12. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    I've had no problem controlling the gopro from my iPhone with the gopro app whilst using the P2 with a gopro 3+, this way i can turn the video on and off and also take stills - mind you the range isn't that great - its fine until you're way up in the sky, then it just loses the wifi link
     
  13. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Not a good plan having the GoPro banging away at 2.4GHz with your tx/rx also on the same frequency. DJI say not to use GoPro wifi while in flight due to interference with the radio gear.
     
  14. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    yeh - i know what they say, but i've not had any issues with it

    famous last words - LOL


    Seriously though… If this is correct, then how can the vision run both iPhone and tx at the same time without issues?
    not being argumentative.. just curious.
     
  15. droneranger

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Because the P2 and the P2V use exactly the opposite frequencies from each other.

    P2 - flight control - 2.4 GHz / video tx is user defined, but usually 5.8 GHz
    P2V - flight control - 5.8 GHz / video tx - 2.4 GHz

    2.4 GHz is a WiFi frequency (the other is 5 GHz), so on the P2V it isn't a problem because that aircraft uses 2.4GHz as the video/data channel, just like your phone. However, since the P2 uses 2.4 GHz for the flight control channel, it clashes with the GoPro Wi-Fi, phone and Wi-Fi extender and you could jam your flight control inputs. Not good.
     
  16. ginsonic

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 7 January 2014 is an event when I think that DJI will release the new gimbal (and not new Phantom with old modified gimbal).
     
  17. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA

    What event is this? Its a different gimbal than is what currently shipping?
     
  18. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    Probably a 3 axis Zenmuse.
     
  19. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    god yeh - fingers crossed for a 3 axis version, that's be sssso cool

    oh yeh, and thanks for the tip on the go pro 3+ wifi - i'll stop using that now - LOL
     
  20. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    They already have one..........http://www.dji.com/product/zenmuse-gimbal-z15/

    Unless your talking about one for just the GoPro?