GoPro settings for night

QYV

Reaction score
First of all, I'll happily admit that I'm just taking my first baby steps into video editing so I'm a newbie in this regard. I have a Hero3+ black and for now I'm just using the GoPro Studio app while I learn some basics then I'll probably go to more serious software.

I sometimes fly in the city at night, and obviously gopros aren't at their best in the dark... my videos look okay but they're not great, pretty grainy especially if I up the contrast during editing.

so let's start here: Protune off or on? The gopro app has settings for exposure, contrast, saturation and sharpness (as well as temp & tint in a different section). Should I just run with Protune off and try to tweak those settings in the software, or would it be better to have protune on if I'm going to try to play with those during editing?

Correct settings on your camera are always the best... you would hate to loose quality post production trying to adjust some levels. The grainy video is from the high ISO setting, a drawback of getting brighter video. Increasing the exposure will also increase the brightness. I would load the GoPro application on your phone and determine which software version you are using. Versions before HD3.11.02.00 have very different default Protune setting than the current software version. I adjust each setting manually and change them based on the conditions.

Here's some good info on GoPro Protune settings

I definitely have the latest firmware I updated it just a week ago when I got a new gopro.

thanks for the link Redwood I'm looking forward to researching

I've read to lower your framerate as well. Running at 24-30fps vs 60fps+ helps.

svinkatnad said:
I'm working on have better night videos, If you find something else to improve, let me know and I will also try. Here the video to my first night fly --> http://youtu.be/ozigL2drMcw and I hope you will share yours also :)