Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

(GoPro) Protune Workflow

Discussion in 'Editing (Photo and Video)' started by henrycruz, Aug 26, 2014.

  1. henrycruz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    what's your video editing workflow using protune? What are your protune settings? Do you use gopro studio to apply the LUT or do you go straight to an editing software and color grade? What's your color grading workflow? I ask because after I do my color grade. It still looks flat and if I add more saturation than needed it will look to washed out. I currently have my protune set at AutoWB, 400iso, Flat color, & Low Sharpening and either shooting at 2.7/30 or 1440/48. Oh and I convert them to prores before importing it to fcpx.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
    Why are you using flat color and low sharpening? Just curious.
     
  3. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    + why 400 iso? Are you shooting at night?
     
  4. CarlJ

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peru, Indiana
  5. henrycruz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Flat color and low sharpening to have better control in post. I set the max iso at 400 since that's the lowest it allows me so the video doesn't get too noisy.

    Thanks for the vid ill watch it when I get home.
     
  6. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
    For me, the GoPro does a fairly decent job with Protune turned off. I have yet to edit a project that warrants the extra time required when protune is on (most of my video's so far have been just for fun). I have a lot of experience shooting still images using the RAW camera format but editing a still image takes a lot less time for me then editing a RAW (protune) video. That may be in part due to the fact that I have a lot more experience using Photoshop than I do using Final Cut Pro X (two different animals). Bottom line for me is... I'm not yet convinced that the extra time required for Protune is worth it.
     
  7. Fair Game

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless you are doing a high end edit or you really, really like post production then I would advocate that you don't use protune. GoPro 3 Black in the right conditions is very good in normal mode. In fact very few video cameras, including pro jobs, have the ability to output any sort of raw footage and the world gets by just fine. But of course if you do want to massage and tweak your footage for top quality, or if you want to match gopro into a multi camera shoot then that is the way to go.

    I put this together for a similiar question asked by Shrimpfarmer.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZH8k2ZNZgv4
     
  8. CarlJ

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peru, Indiana
    I just got my new GoPro Hero3+ Black a few weeks ago so I'm reluctant to offer my expert advice. Just so you understand that I'm in pretty much the same boat as you.

    I have a color grading software called Colorista II from Red Giant, and it's very powerful, but I'm having more success starting out in GoPro Studio and using the Protunes preset as a base, then exporting as lossless for touching up in After Effects. I know I keep tossing out videos for you to watch, but I found them helpful.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kI72GBmux80

    I don't feel like we are adequately answering your questions because no one has really given you a step by step set of instructions, but due to the subjective nature of color correction, and availability of software you have to work with, your questions are difficult to answer.

    And then there's the fact that I'm really as lost as you are on the subject, but I hope we've given you a direction in which to research a solution that works for you.
     
  9. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,801
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    There are very few cases where doing something in camera is better than doing it in post. Protune with flat color, low sharpening and 400 ISO give you as close to an unprocessed image as possible. It does mean you have to learn to grade and sharpen.
     
  10. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
    I did a test video today using Protune with 1080p and 30fps. I then imported to the GoPro app to adjust the exposure, contrast, saturation and sharpening. Looked pretty good until I exported... it took forever! I know my iMAC computer is not that fastest but it took around 15 minutes to export a 1:10 min video clip! That ain't gonna work! The test was to see if using the GoPro app to adjust the aforementioned parameters then exporting and importing to FCPX would be a feasible workflow. Nope.
     
  11. CarlJ

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peru, Indiana
    People talk a lot of **** on here, but Ian isn't one of them. His last video had FLAWLESS color correction so I listen to each and every word he utters...and worship the quicksand he walks on. :shock:

    I also did some testing today, and there is really no need to futz around with GoPro Studio as I was able to achieve better results right inside after effects. Ian's right, it just takes practice.
     
  12. henrycruz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    you don't have to export it. once you apply the LUT using the gopro studio go on fcpx import media and your adjustments will be imported as well.
     
  13. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
    Pardon my ignorance, but what is "LUT"? Can you explain the process a little more? I don't fully understand.
     
  14. henrycruz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1

    LUT info - http://nofilmschool.com/2011/05/what-is ... ut-anyway/

    once you have converted your clips on go pro studio go to step 2 and apply your adjustments. once you are finished. import it to your fcpx. no need to export the media again after applying your adjustments.
     
  15. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
    Thanks! What I'm still unclear on is the import process to fcpx. When I'm done with the adjustments in gopro studio, do I close that app and then open fcpx and import the clip?
     
  16. cokeaddict

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    10
    Not sure why ur using 400iso. But I agree with desertflyer53 on pretty much everything he said in his 1st post.
    On the odd occasion I edit (enhance) in gopro studio, but usually I only edit when I add ND or polerising filters to my lens. I too use photoshop and lightroom extensively as I also dabble in photography alot. But gopro studio works great for a quick enhancement to a short video. I also have cyberlink, sony vegas and adobe premier but have no need to use any of them for enhancing videos as most of my work is for fun or personal use.
     
  17. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,801
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    CarlJ, the check is in the mail!

    cokeaddict, 400 ISO is a limit not the actual ISO. There's no way on the GoPro to set the actual ISO.
     
  18. CarlJ

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peru, Indiana
    I got one word for ya...gratuity! :D