Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gopro placement on V2?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by melenco4, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. melenco4

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was just wondering if anyone else has attached say a GP3+ on their V2 and where did you place it? I just wanna get the second view and add in the footage but not sure where to place it? On the top would prob interfere with the gps right?
     
  2. yali

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wrong, on top won't interfere with gps, but with Propellers!!!
     
  3. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    :lol:
     
  4. melenco4

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, to test my theory I put a normal curved mount up there and the props never even came close to the gp3...anyway I let the V2 get a sat signal turned on gopro signal dropped to 3 started recording and it went to 0 sat signals..turned gp off completely and signal went back up to 10...so ..explain that.
     
  5. jeffscra

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I mounted a gopro pointing out the back under the battery. Flew a couple times with it shot video and pictures out both ends. I had to get a bracket just like the one the camera is sitting on to get rid of the jello effect. Worked fine. Flew fine. No issues.
     
  6. ProfessorStein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Did you shut off the WiFi functionality on the GoPro itself?
    I know other platforms that specifically carry the GoPros tell you to do that... mainly for conflicts with the tx... but I could see how it might interfere with the sat as well. Or it could just be the EM interference from the basic camera functions as well.

    Interesting that you found enough space on top for the mount. I, too, would've though it would've gotten hit by the props. But my other concern would be balance. Once you start putting weighty things above the centerline of the props, I would imagine you'd start to throw off the balance pretty considerably. It just seems like a smarter idea to keep everything "down below" as much as possible.
     
  7. melenco4

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is plenty of space up there but you're right about the interference and actually it was flying pretty well while the camera was off but of course camera on I stayed grounded b/c of now sat signal. I know I can fly without it but well ..I just don't wanna lol Yes all wifi function was off on the GP. I ended up mounting it on the bottom with a homemade bracket. To take off I let the PV2 sit in a bucket took off and landed back in the bucket LOL crude but it worked!!