Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GoPro Hero 4 Black Wifi not to be used on P2 in flight?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ezookiel, Mar 16, 2015.

  1. Ezookiel

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    I was just reading and advertisement for a "package deal" and it stated that the Go Pro Hero 4 Black should never have its wifi on while in use on the P2 as it can interfere with the control signal to the P2.
    I don't normally turn the wifi on on my GPH4B, but I have used it occasionally. I think I've always turned it off again straight away and never flown with it on, but not sure for certain.
    Is the wifi connection on the camera going to interfere with the controls on a P2
     
  2. gfo315

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Yes, it will. Both GoPro's WiFi and your P2 controller uses 2.4 GHz. It can lower your controlling range and even get you a flyaway.
    Maybe, nothing could happen at all. But why to risk it?
     
  3. Ezookiel

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    Wow. Thanks. I'm not sure if I left it on the other day or not, but ironically it was the first time I ever got crystal clear video from the FPV system right out to 750m, and I have a horrible feeling that the wifi would still have been on. Damned lucky by the sound of it. I'll make sure not to be so lazy as to turn it on just to empty the memory card next time. I did it that way as I didn't want to disturb the gimbal too much as it was powered up while I was waiting for GPS locks, so thought I'd turn wifi on and use that to empty and setup the camera.
    Good information to know. I wonder if anyone else having flyaways etc ever thought whether they had the wifi on on their GoPro's?
     
  4. snowman50

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, if you don't have the wifi on the camera, how can you see "pictures" of when it's flying? Or how do I connect it to my tablet then to see while it's flying? Does anyone know if there's anywhere in MO where's there's a dealer or someone who could help me get everything set up?
     
  5. toorboy

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    fife scotland uk
    I had the gopro hero 4 black setup on my fc40
    and used the fc40 battery door with Velcro to hold the fc40 cam for fpv
    while the gopro recorded below on the gimbal but it was a hit or a miss on
    what it captured lol
     
  6. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,982
    Likes Received:
    664
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    "Interfere" is a general term. What happens is that the Hero WiFi and the P2 R/C are both on the 2.4 GHz band. As you get further from the controller the control signal gets progressively weaker. But inches away is a transmitter on the same frequency (the GoPro WiFi). The Phantom can't "hear" the R/C transmitter hundreds of feet away because of the much stronger signals from the GoPro WiFi just inches away.

    All that will happen is that the Phantom will think it's lost the control signal and initiate a RTH.
     
    kenundrum likes this.
  7. kenundrum

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Warwick, RI
    I agree with Steve. It is almost impossible for any other signals on the 2.4G band to be interpreted by the receiver as valid commands for the flight controller. It can't cause a flyaway, only a return to home.
    If you started flying without gps lock and and a valid home point set, then yes that could become a flyaway as it tries to return to home somewhere over the atlantic ocean; but that wouldn't be the gopro's fault.
     
  8. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    You need to install a transmitter on your Phantom, and have a receiver/monitor like the Black Pearl on the ground. The video comes from the GoPro, through the mainboard, into the transmitter, then the receiver on the ground gets the video signal and BAM! You get a picture... :)

    There are a lot of posts here about setting up FPV and the parts needed. I think I posted one a few weeks ago with the parts list I have, and it's in my signature too. And you should also search YouTube for videos, there are some good ones out there...
     
Loading...