Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GoPro Hero 3 works but Hero 3+ does not

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by zdauexs, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. zdauexs

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    P2, H3-3D Zenmuse, Fatshark Transmitter

    My friend could not get video to transmit from his Hero 3+ with the above setup. We swapped out his transmitter for my ImmersionRC and still no video. Whether using Black Pearl or Fatshark goggles, transmitter is working because screen turns black but not video. When my Hero 3 is swapped into his setup, video works fine.

    Is there a setting that we are missing to make the Hero 3+ work? Have tried resetting to default, NTSC vs PAL, resolution etc etc, no luck.

    Thanks,

    E
     
  2. dptcalvin

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    12
    Do you have iOSD? Is that showing up on the monitor?
     
  3. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    The Hero 3+ may have a damaged port that plugs into the gimbal. But first I would check that the camera has the latest updates from Go Pro.
     
  4. zdauexs

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    No iOSD on his setup. Go Pro has latest firmware and camera works fine through USB connection when plugged into laptop etc. Very strange that my Hero 3 works fine with his setup but his Hero 3+ does not transmit video.
     
  5. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    I was referring to the 30 pin connector on the back of his camera may be damaged and it has nothing to do with the USB on the side. The 30 pin connector on the zenmuse works as you connected your camera to the gimbal and it works.
     
  6. zdauexs

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Zenmuse is actually the H3-3D with the USB plug, not the 2D I originally posted.
     
  7. dptcalvin

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    12
    Does his 3+ work on your Phantom with FPV?