Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

gopro hero 3 record stops

Discussion in 'Photos and Video' started by steadicamhawaii, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. steadicamhawaii

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    my hero 3 stops recording randomly during flight is it an auto stop
    record default with the camera or caused from the zenmuse or phantom
     
  2. martcerv

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Most issues with the gopro stopping recording before running out of memory or battery is due to an SD card that isnt up to spec.

    Go here for the current list of supported cards. http://gopro.com/support/articles/softw ... te-release

    Sandisk Ultra cards were originally on the supported list but have been found to not meet spec at all times and were a main reason for gopro camera issues. If you have a black edition and Sandisk Ultra you can upgrade to the latest firmware, this will reduce the max bitrate to 35Mbps on the sd ultra cards but at least it will keep recording.

    Also make sure your card is genuine as there are lots of fakes around and if you have a fake it will cause nothing but issues so try and only buy SD cards from reputable retailers and not from private sellers online.

    The odd thing is since GoPro changed the firmware for the SD ultra cards to be at a reduced rate they have since added the SD extreme cards. These are about the best and fastest cards you can get but on current firmware for the black and black+ these are also crippled to 35Mbps max bitrate but should be changed in a future firmware update.
     
  3. Gordo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Two tips that I find helped the same issues with my GoPro 2
    1) Make sure the battery is fully charged.
    2) Format the card on the computer, then in the camera each time.

    Gord
     
  4. Miika

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    This happens with any video recorder when SD card isnt fast enough. You need to have atleast CLASS10 SD card with GoPro.
     
  5. Qwadjok

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Re: How to remove images from the stock 4gb Micro Sandisk

    Deleting photos from the micro memory disk that comes with the quad should not be so difficult. I can copy or transfer them to any file, just can't clear the disk for new images.

    Anyone have any suggestions other than formatting the disk.

    Thanks

    QJ