Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GoPro and GPS interference

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hughie, Dec 14, 2014.

  1. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
  2. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    419
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    I have never had a problem P1 or P2 most use a gimbal so no case .
     
  3. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    Test it yourself. Downland an app called GPS Test. Put it close to your GoPro when it is off. Let sit until the app gets all the satellites. Note the strength and how many. Then turn on your GoPro and see if there is any less strength showing. I have seen a video on this forum of this very test. There was no difference. Best to satisfy yourself though. I have had no problems getting 10+ satellites and have had no reason to do the test.
     
  4. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    IrishSights, great suggestion. I tried this.

    With the app running (I am indoors) I can get 8 satellites in use in the app within 30 or 40 seconds.
    If I put the GoPro next to the phone (obviously not in the gimbal), the total drops to 0 satellites in use.

    So it is a noisy little camera alright.

    I wonder if the reason it seems to work OK in the Phantom is that the gimbal acts as a screen - perhaps the gimbal is connected to the 0v line too.

    Thoughts?
     
  5. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,788
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    I am not buying it. With the 2.4GHz radio turned off, what else inside the GoPro would generate enough RF noise to interfere with something on the other side of the quad?
     
  6. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Yep - distance might be the only thing stopping it being a problem.
    The camera is quite a long way from the GPS sensor on the Phantom when it is in the gimbal.
     
  7. p fandango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    i've used GoPro Hero 3 & 3+'s & never had an issue, my Phantoms never done anything thats not been expected
     
  8. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
  9. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,788
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Put any electronics too close to a GPS antenna and it will interfere with the signal. Instead of wrapping your GoPro, you'll get much better results putting shielding copper tape under the GPS antenna on the inside of the top half of the shell.
     
  10. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Thanks ianwood I have already done this mod. No noticeable difference however.
    Possibly means it was as good as it can be.
     
  11. Nidge

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Otley, West Yorkshire, UK
    In his demonstration he would achieve the same results with the GoPro switched off as all he's doing is blocking the GPS signals with the metal body of the Gopro.

    To qualify this I have checked my GH3B with a spectrum analyser and I see no emissions in the GPS allocation.

    Regards

    Nidge
     
  12. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Thanks.

    Edit : It could have been more of a problem with the hero 2.
    This is hardly scientific, but this could be a proximity issue here, rather than a blanket block as was suggested for sitting a gopro on top of a satellite reciever
    http://www.yourepeat.com/watch/?v=ojY4csnbMi0