Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gopro 4 focus adjustment

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Truestory, Oct 23, 2014.

  1. Truestory

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, Just became a P2 owner after starting my quad flying with Walkera products (Don't even get me started on that subject)...
    So far over the moon with this thing, fitted the mini OSD internally with IRC600mw TX and all working perfectly..
    I have a Gopro 3 but just getting the Gopro 4 and came across a video about adjusting the focal point of the Hero 3+ lens to dramatically improve the sharpness on the GP for aerial work.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SnLdpSRMsEs
    I was wondering if anyone knows as yet whether or not the go pro 4 has the same soft issue with infinity and if this mod will improve the GP4 as well.
    Cheers.
     
  2. Bluegrass

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very interesting. I always thought my videos were pretty sharp on my GoPro + black. I may give it a try and see If I see a difference. I haven't purchased a 4 yet but probably will sometime.
     
  3. syotr

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    134
    The focus issue with the early GoPro 3+ was fixed by GoPro. All models after those made in the first months, should not have this problem. I would not expect the same problem in the GoPro4.
    I think GoPro had set the focus closer in the GoPro 3+ since most of the cameras sold were being used for sports where the action was close up. They advertised that this new camera was much sharper than the GoPro 3, when in fact it was just focused closer.
    After many user complaints, they changed their production methods. I don't think they ever officially admitted that the close focus change was intentional.
    169 pages of discussion here:
    http://goprouser.freeforums.org/differe ... 14637.html
     
  4. bschaub

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I upgrade to GP4 Black and love the improved quality. But, YouTube and worse FB, have algorithms that seem to wash nonessential parts of the video out. I find the file perfect and then uploaded file oddly fuzzy in spots.
     
  5. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    what do you do your video editing with? I just use GoPro Studio which has preset outputs for Youtube and Vimeo, they look great imo definitely never any fuzzy parts in the video
     
  6. CarlJ

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peru, Indiana
    Try encoding your video with H.264 and set your bitrate to 10. I've heard of using a higher bitrate, but I doubt it will improve your quality.

    As for Facebook...forget about it...
     
  7. Gilbert Gomes

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    For best quality, you want to give Youtube a larger file to process. More data = less compression artifacts when Youtube encodes.

    If you're interested in the best quality video from Youtube It makes no sense to "dumb down" your GoPro video to 10 Mbps.

    See:

    https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/1722171?hl=en