Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

goodluckbuy gimbal questions

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by dragonash, Apr 22, 2014.

  1. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    so my wallet isnt thrilled about the zenmuse's price tag for just a "hobby".

    However, the goodluckbuy gimbal seems like a fair trade off!
    Can my FC40 support the gimbal? Do I need to do any weird wiring? Or can I just attach the mount, plug it into the balance adapter and let her go after adjusting settings in the naza assistant?
     
  2. webtop

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    In short, yes.
    The gimbal mounts under the quad and plugs into the naza controller's X2 socket.
    Its all very simple

    Paul
     
  3. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    so i am definitely opening up my Phantom.
    I've watched a few videos. One of them says to only use 1 wire (plug) to power the gimbal or else it will burn out.
    In fact, this is the video
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JeE-ZOH9seg

    He was very informative. But he was not using a Phantom. So I didnt know if the one wire thing pertained to his quad or not.
     
  4. FatKevinSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Misinformation. Been flying mine using the FC40's aux power wires for a month with no issues.
     
  5. jiannelli

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    One wire for the control is correct!
     
  6. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    counting the video, thats 2 -1.

    anyone else care to comment?
     
  7. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    you power the gimbal with the Aux power coming out of the landing legs.
    then all you really need is one wire going to the F2 of the NAZA to control the pitch. (it doesn't need a ground, because the gimbal is already getting a ground from the Aux power wire)
     
  8. rustysd

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    I power mine with the balance lead from my lipo. What is aux power from Landing leg? Could you post pic?

    I have not seem anything on the leg I could plug into the gimbal
     
  9. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    It's not particularly inconvenient to use the battery balance lead for power, good idea to get an extension for it though.
    Without connecting the pitch control wire it will always point more or less forward - which is not as limiting as you would think with a wide angle camera.
     
  10. webtop

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    First off, I mistyped above, saying X2 instead of F2 for the pitch control of the gimbal.
    As for how many wires, it really does not matter and it certainly will not burn out the gimbal. Power is drawn and not pushed, go if the gimbal doesn't need it (which I doesn't) then it will not draw the power from the F2 port.
    Onto powering the gimbal, they use small amounts so the battery balance lead is perfect, which is why they include that type of plug.

    One note, on some of these gimbals you'll get the pitch showing as upside down in the naza software, and that is because the mini pcb on the camera mount is upside down. Most will be fine, but there are some production issues and some batches are wrong.
    If that I the case, simply remove it and glue onto the edge the other way.

    Paul
     
  11. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hey guys, when I do a search for goodluckbuy gimbals on google, I'm getting multiple different results.
    Is this the one everyone is raving about?

    http://www.goodluckbuy.com/dji-phantom- ... raphy.html

    Is it 3-axis? All the information I am reading up on is making me cross-eyed! Especially when it comes to having adjust gains for it
     
  12. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Just two axis, they are rather heavy and I found mine tended to judder and vibrate.
    The actual gimballing action was quite good though.
    Battery drains quite a bit faster with it on.
     
  13. T0Rtur3

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check out the Walkera gimbal. It's lighter (listed at 120g vs. the goodluckbuy listed at 230g), and is made very well. I'm impressed with it. It runs about $20 more than the goodluckbuy, but at the reduced weight I think it's worth it.
     
  14. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY

    Hey thanks for the new suggestion!
    How is the install process?

    Oh, and I plan on getting those mad dog batteries to compensate for the reduced battery life

    omg - i just foudn this youtube video with an FC40 user! Awesome!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYVl4QbcEBs
     
  15. BladHaund

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. T0Rtur3

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yeah, that guy's video was the one that first pointed me in the direction of the Walkera. He gives pretty good detail, and also has a good video on extending wifi signal.
     
  17. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY

    I will have to look into it and compare. It is 30 grams heavier than the Walkera. Are you implying that the Walkera de-stabilizes the Phantom on takeoff?
     
  18. T0Rtur3

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can confirm that the Walkera does NOT de-stabilize my Phantom on takeoff. I have yet to get 9" props, still running stock props and smaller prop guards.
     
  19. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Torture,

    How are you powering yours?
    Did you solder a connection to the aux cables that came with the phantom? Did you buy an adapter to connect it directory to the balancer of the battery?
     
  20. T0Rtur3

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 500 mah 2s lipo that i just 2-sided taped to the back end of the gimbal, but this weekend when I have my new gopro, I plan on setting up the tilt, and while I'm inside the case I will run it off the aux power.