Goodbye to my little Phantom, Alvin.

Reaction score
You know, I've read these threads for over a year and I always just sit and think "oh, that's terrible", then I walk over to my gear and think "it won't happen to me"

I didn't think I'd be posting one.

I've been flying fixed wing and helis for about 15 years. I've had some crashes but I'm not new to this by any means.
I have (sniff, had) three camera platforms, so named Alvin, Simon and Theodore.

Simon is a F550, I've had the longest. A Nava V1 w/ GPS. Very stable and versatile craft. A smart bird.

Theodore is a little Phantom 2 that I've recently added. All stock for the most part.

Then, there was Alvin. Alvin was neatly upgraded, Phantom v1.whatever w/ Nava-M V2, GPS, T-Motor Antigravity props and motors. Paired with an 8FG and R6208SB onboard, fatshark tx and IBCrazy cloverleaf, the kind of craft you get in those $2500 bulk aerial photo site packages from your favorite DJI supplier.

This has been a relatively new craft to me but my go-to at late. With the 8FG and optional dual rates in Manual Mode, Alvin was always a pretty easy little bird to fly. ATT worked well enough and IOC was always turned off. GPS Mode was always a different story. I read fixed-wing guys talking about being able to flip it in GPS mode and put the controller down. That was always hit-or-miss with Alvin. Sometimes he'd fly in a tight little box and easy hover at GPS mode, other times he'd drift -- badly.