Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Going for a phantom 3

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by ccase39, Feb 18, 2016.

  1. ccase39

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    17
    So my vision plus is acting up. I see the prices have gone down on the P3 standard. I'm not into professional pictures or anything, so camera quality isn't too important. What do the others offer that the standard doesn't? Which would you get? Do they have ground station yet?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,861
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    You can compare the differences between the models here.

    I own all P3 models. If I could only buy one again, I would buy the P3P if I needed 4K or the P3A if I did not need 4K. The other models really shouldn't even be considered unless money is a factor.

    The P3 can fly waypoint missions. It's a little different than the P2 though. You must manually fly the mission first in order to mark the waypoints. To work around that limitation, many people use Litchi since it lets you setup missions from the ground (like the P2).
     
  3. twisted1504

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    I can't comment on the ground station thing, as I honestly don't know, the advanced has better positioning technology and further range through DJI lightbridge, and I discovered yesterday from a couple of guys on here that the advanced now sports a 2.7k camera just like the standard, if I could go back and choose again I'd get an advanced, the only thing that the standard wins on is flight time, with upto 25 mins vs the advanced's 23 mins.
     
  4. Bob8619

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Ft Myers Florida
    In my opinion the advanced version doesn't offer enough to warrant paying $300 more. Nor does the Pro offer anything worth paying $500 more for.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,861
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    Here are a few things that make that $300 worthwhile for me:

    - It uses Lightbridge
    - The remote controller is much higher in quality
    - The remote controller contains a lot of extra buttons that make it easier to access the features in DJI GO
    - The remote controller comes with a tablet holder
    - It can connect to both GPS & GLONASS satellites
     
    henick and twisted1504 like this.
  6. twisted1504

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    I wish I had gone for the advanced, at the time I purchased my standard I was certain the advanced only supported 1080p, which is a decent resolution. But I couldn't part with the extra money for a lesser able camera :'(
     
  7. Bob8619

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Ft Myers Florida
    In my residential area I can get to 2600 feet without losing live video that is plenty far for me as the distance is just for fun not really a necessity. Quality of controller doesn't matter to me as long as it works and works well, which mine does. Extra buttons are cool I guess but I can quickly and easily get to any setting or mode with the app. I don't own a tablet and if I did I could easily rig up a tablet holder. I have not had a single issue with the amount of GPS I get so GLOSNASS isn't missed for me.

    No doubt that there advantages but definitely not worth the price to me.
     
  8. ccase39

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    17
    Do all models have Lightbridge and the same range? Money is definitely a factor but I may consider more if I can get more range with it.
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,861
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    The P3P and P3A use Lightbridge and have the same range. The P3S and P34K use Wi-Fi instead of Lightbridge.
     
  10. twisted1504

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rugby, England
    The standard does not have lightbridge, it uses standard WiFi transmission with an extender built into the controller.
     
  11. Bob8619

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Ft Myers Florida
    No, the standard does not include Lightbridge. Only you can determine if the additions are worth the extra cash though.
     
  12. Pilot Wings

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    15
    I went with the P3S due to the price I got it for. Knowing what I know now, I'd like to upgrade. But I'll see what the next version offers. Also I'm waiting to see what GoPro brings to the table later this year.
     
    twisted1504 likes this.
  13. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    not me I'm waiting to see poweregg upload_2016-2-18_15-7-7.png
     
  14. ccase39

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    17
    Went with the advanced. I like the lightbridge technology. thanks guys.
     
  15. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    you will be happy with it
     
  16. hawkman68

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have been flying a buddy's pro since summer and had been wanting one for a while. When they went on sale I got the standard and almost immediately wished I got the advanced. As said the remote and device holder is better. The lightbridge is hassle free and gives much better range with less problem with interference at close range and in residential neighborhoods. The pro works fine in my back yard but the standard has all kinds of interference. In my house I can't even use the simulator with the standard. If I had the chance to do it over it is worth the extra $300.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  17. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    hawkman how far are you getting in neighborhood with distance
     
  18. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Not counting the 4K of the Pro & much nicer controller, what the Advanced/Pro offer over the Standard is 5x the range due to Lightbridge. Being able to fly out 3 miles or more is sweet! :cool:

     
  19. hawkman68

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    I've only flew it in my back yard. At the cow field down the road I have been out 1500 ft but haven't pushed it any farther yet.
     
  20. buford

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    146
    I'm with you.