Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Goggles

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by ACT Bird, Jul 2, 2016.

  1. ACT Bird

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am thinking about getting goggles. I would like to hear what you would recommend? P3P.
     
  2. DroneTone

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    While I use Headplay goggles, check out the FPV section under Forums...
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,572
    Location:
    US
    You can find a list of commonly used googles here.

    I have both the Fat Shark Dominator V3 goggles and Headplay HD goggles. Both work well with the Phantom. They are both good for different reasons. Check out this video for more details:

     
    Fat City and flyboy73 like this.
  4. ACT Bird

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am leaning towards the headplay. Good video, thanks.
     
  5. Darmie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Houston TX.
    I have used the skyzone in the past with a HDMI to RCA with success. Now that I have my headplay and had a chance to wear them while flying I don't think you can go wrong with them. Headplay gives you a feeling that you are actually in the cockpit. Now, for me it was easier to see the telemetry data on goggles, but I'm sure that's the older eyes kicking in.
     
  6. YYZ

    YYZ

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    I picked up the Headplays a few weeks ago. Aside from looking hideous on my head, the immersive FPV video is incredible! I love the Headplays!
     
  7. Ranger003

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    13
    HEADPLAYS + RHO LENSES. can't go wrong with this combination! Mod an extra battery for longer viewing time.
     
    Darmie likes this.
  8. Darmie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Houston TX.
    Yes, I've seen the RHO's but boy are they proud of those. I need to see if 3s will work on those goggles. Heck, I'll just add a deans connector and keep going.
     
  9. YYZ

    YYZ

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    What are RHO lenses? What do they do for the image?
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,572
    Location:
    US
    Check out their website here.
     
  11. YYZ

    YYZ

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    Interesting. I'll keep this in mind. Thank you.
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,572
    Location:
    US
    I ordered some today. Here's to hoping they are as good as they advertise on their website :)
     
  13. Ghostrunner007

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are you using to go from HDMI to RCA, I have fatshark goggles and the HDMI input jack has died
     
  14. DroneTone

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I have been using RHO Lens for my Headplays for about 4 months.
    I think they work great, are much clearer and visually more satisfying than the stock fresnel lens.
    (While my eyes aren't too bad, I am over 60 but have no issues with the Headplays. If I wanted to wear glasses I could using the Headplays.
    The only issue I have (had) is keeping the lens in place in the goggles during transportation. They tended to fall out of place, no matter how I adjusted the fit.
    I ended up going the cheap way by using some foam black weather striping to create a channel for the lens to stay put in. Problem solved.
    I also wish I had a better case to carry them in when backpacking rather than using the minimal (paper/plastic?) bag it comes with.

    I am also thinking of installing a toggle switch to turn off/on the 5.8 GHz receiver in the Headplays since I always connect them via HDMI to the RC.
    The advantage is that it conserves Headplay battery life. Looking on the web and YouTube it seems fairly straight forward to do.
     
    WetDog likes this.
  15. Jericho

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have Carl ziess cinemisers, have tried many goggles but these in my opinion are the most comfortable and have the clearest image, not cheap though.
     
  16. jjpetroski

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    5
    With the Headplays and/or Eachine Goggle One: How are these for those that wear readers? I'm a +1.50 after lasic. Does it give you a far away view, or would readers be needed as the screen is only inches from your face?
     
  17. Ricksdumb@gmail. Com

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Niagara Falls, NY
    Does anybody know why my "Kylin Vision goggles" aren't working with my p3s ?
     
  18. Darmie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Houston TX.
    Do they have HDMI in? I'm also not aware that the P3S has HDMI out. If your thinking 5.8 to 5.8. the goggles receive just an analog signal and the Phantom uses digital and so on. Now, what I could never figure out is why a cell phone that has 5.8 for wifi can't with some application receive the analog signal of the fpv racer.
     
  19. Ricksdumb@gmail. Com

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Niagara Falls, NY
    Thanks for the input darmie; I must have read misleading info. Was supposed work with all versions of p3. I've tried them with 3 other drones from my collection, no signal from those either.
     
  20. Darmie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Houston TX.
    No problem. If you get an Advance or a PRO, you will still need to purchase and install one of these boards;

    Buy HDMI Output Module (Phantom 3 Pro/Adv/Phantom 4) | DJI Store

    I think if you shop around you can find one cheaper. The install is simple, just follow these steps here.


    If you get the inspire, it already has the HDMI out board.
    Again, not sure if your goggles offer HDMI in. I know that the Headplay does and that's what I use.