Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GO PRO not working right

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by auen1, Mar 11, 2015.

  1. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
    I turn on the camera to record and I fly.
    I return and the camera is off and recorded nothing.
    Now I try to turn on the camera, it won't turn on.
    If I remove the GoPro battery and reinstall it, the camera is fine.
    Until I fly again.
    Any advice?
    Thanks!

    EDIT: BTW first flights.
     
  2. scubari

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had same issues. I think it was because of sd card. try formating sd to it's default values.
     
  3. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    what go pro is it?
    what firmware?
    what sd card speed and brand?
     
  4. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    Sounds like the dreaded sandisc ultra problem.
     
  5. nospeak

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wrocław, Poland
    additionally: do you use fully charged GoPro battery to your flight?
     
  6. scubari

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, sorry ;)
    Gp 3+ be
    Transcend 300x 32gb hc1 class10
    Fw 3.08
     
  7. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Charge the gopro battery.
    Format the SD card inside the GoPro.
    Change to 1080p@30fps for starters. Then increase resolutions.
    The card could be a fake and the write speeds/size may not be true.
     
  8. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
    Thanks, I reformatted the SD.
    And I made sure it was not a fake.
    Took it out for a flight today and the camera still would not work.
    Using a Samsung 64 evo and a GoPro3+

    Any other ideas?

    THANKS!
     
  9. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Your GoPro is scared of heights or maybe you pulling too many G's that the GoPro passes out.

    Try:
    1. Take the gopro off the bird and run it on its own. You will then figure out if its the Gopro alone or the phantom h33d combo.
    2. Try different card. My 64G Sammy Evo was a fake. viewtopic.php?f=4&t=36312
    3. Check the flex ribbon cable that comes from the H33D mount to the side Gopro USB port. You may have installed it upside down/backwards.
     
  10. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
    Thanks Mako,
    Looks like the problem was that the ribbon cable was not seated properly.
    Everything seems to work on a bench test.
    I did check the SD card with the app suggested in the other thread.

    I was afraid that I may have flown when it was to cold and that might have caused the problem.
    -20F
     
  11. auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Nome,AK USA
    Well, I am still having problems. : (
    I can get about 1 minute of video before the camera shuts off.
    I have reinstalled the firmware on the GoPro, made sure the battery was fully charged, checked and rechecked the connections at the gimbal and camera. Replaced the SD card and made sure that it was a real sd card.
    In another thread I mention that the camera was very hot when using the assistant sw.
    I think some connection is wrong in the Phantom.

    Where might the problem be?