Go Mavic or not?

Reaction score
I am new to the whole drone thing, having acquired my first drone - a Phantom 4 - about five weeks ago. Since then I've been clueing up avidly on the Mavic. A truly impressive machine indeed. Well worthy of the moniker 'magic Mavic'. But am I tempted to swap my P4 for a Mavic? Most definitely not. I believe the Mavic's photo and video quality to be every bit as good as the P4... the initial bad publicity concerning soft footage, I feel sure, arose from early tests and demo flights where the Mavic's camera had not been pre-focused. I have since seen pin-sharp Mavic video clips posted on-line.

The Mavic's Active Tracking enhancements and terrain-following facility I feel sure will appear sooner or later (hopefully sooner) on the P4 by way of a firmware upgrade and, if necessary, an update to the DJI GO app. The Mavic appears to be endowed with very similar hardware to the P4, so it's entirely feasible that the new features will read across. The narrower field of view of the Mavic's lens suits some users more than others. But the P4 when shooting in modes less than 4K, e.g. 2.7K, has pixels going spare on the sensor, so a zoom-in can be achieved by 'unpinching' the fingers on the screen without loss of image quality. Thus P4 users can have the best of both worlds. The Mavic's advantage by way of propeller freedom in images shot during fast sport-mode flight can largely be overcome on the P4 by tilting the camera down a little such that the horizon falls higher up the frame. I wouldn't normally be shooting 'proper' video in sport mode anyway.

And lastly, I love my full-sized iPad Air as an FPV monitor.

Long live the Phantom 4.

Tony..

Last edited:
Reactions: r62ewa and John1960
I'll throw in my thoughts. Haven't been on phantom pilots forums in a while so i'm not sure of the general feeling about this, but personally i'm thinking seriously about selling my phantom while I can get a premium and grab the Mavic.