Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimble Cable too short

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by BorgEasyRoll, Mar 7, 2015.

  1. BorgEasyRoll

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I own a phantom 2. I recently installed FVP and bought the hub to make the install easier.

    I'd like to have a super clean install by burying the hub inside the body, but the gimble cable to the hub is too short. does anyone know where i could get an extension cable for this?

    Alternatively, I was thinking about cutting it half and splicing in the needed length, but Im concerned about interference. Does anyone know were I could just buy the connectors and I can make up my own cable?

    Any help/advice would be appreciated!

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Hobby Mounts

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    What happened to the long cable that comes out of the P2 into the Gimbal?

    You could also do away with the FPV completely by using one of these if you have an ImmersionRC VTX...

    [​IMG]

    One end plugs into the CAM port inside the P2, the other into your iOSD Mini and then the power cables into the ImmersionRC VTX.

    Super neat and tidy!
     
  3. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    ya you should have a longer 8 pin cable that orignally stuck out from the bottom of the p2. But if you dont have it. You can buy a new p2 cable pack for about 8 bucks that has the longer 8pin cable. an new compass cable and also a new cam bus cable.
    Tho it sucks they dont just sell the 8 pin one by its self or put one in the gimbals accessory pack.
     
  4. BorgEasyRoll

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    The long cable coming out of the P2 is still intact, but the connector end is not compatible with the FPV hub. I could bypass the hub complete by just soldering some other cables, etc. It was just nice and clean to connect all into that little board.

    You solution looks good but I don't have the splitter cable for the iOSD.
     
  5. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    It seems the AVL58/IOSD/DJI hub was intended to be installed externally for ease of plug and play. And It sucks that the cable you are after only comes in 1 length. I gave up the clean install route and plugged it all externally. If you want a clean install, you will need to look at the soldering method and throw away the hub.