Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal won't angle up or down. Help?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by mister_chill, Aug 29, 2015.

  1. mister_chill

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, so my gimbal used to be able to look up and down by using the knob control on the left corner of the Phantom 2 controller. Somehow, it stopped working though, and only stays at a 45 degree angle. Besides that, the gimbal works fine, it just doesn't respond to when I try to angle up/down.

    I am in NYC area. Any idea on if I can fix myself/someone who can? I bought off amazon and dont really have receipt or anything but could probably track the order down.

    Thanks!
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Which gimbal do you have H3-3D or the H4-3D??
     
    mister_chill likes this.
  3. Ti22

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    San Diego
    Do you have it enabled in NAZA assistant under Gimbal settings? I’m P1 pay grade so it’s probably different for your bird but would seem easy enough to take a look. Especially since it used to work but no longer does.

    I spend a great deal of time in LIC Queens. Where do you fly?
     
    mister_chill likes this.
  4. mister_chill

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a H3-3D.
     
  5. mister_chill

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, I'll look into that. I'm new to droning so I'm not familiar with NAZA assistant and what it does. Nothing acute happened (crash, etc), so it seems like something trivial is prohibiting the remote from talking to the gimbal. But, like I said, the gimbal works perfectly and is communicating just fine with the drone.

    I'm in Brooklyn, Bushwick to be specific. Haven't taken flight yet in the city, just bought my P2 for a roadtrip I just went on in July.
     
  6. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Have you calibrated X1 in both the RC and P2 software? The RC unit has to be turned on when calibrating X1 in the P2 software. There's also controls for the gimbal in the advanced tab of the P2 software and make sure the vertical limit is set to 0.
    Actually adjust the vertical slider so you see how it works while you're connected to the software.
     
  7. ojaysam

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi, I have just just got myself a new phantom 2 v2 with the same gimbal, I did exactly what Jason suggested a few weeks ago and it fixed the problem.
     
    mister_chill likes this.
  8. mister_chill

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Before you can use any of the software if you are using a PC be sure to connect the P2 to your computer and download the windows driver directly to the P2.

    If you are using a zenmuse gimbal and GoPro you want to get longer landing gear or snap on extensions as the gimbal/camera are less than a quarter inch from the ground. Land to hard and it may cost you either in repairs, replacement or both.
     
    #9 jason, Aug 30, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2015
  10. mister_chill

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on a mac, I'm sure the set up is similar, though.

    Where would you recommend for getting extra P2 parts, and what other parts would you recommend? I'm definitely going to invest in some bumpers for my propellers.
     
  11. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Hard to tell you where to go for parts without knowing where you live.
     
  12. mister_chill

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was thinking online retailers! I'm in NYC though.
     
  13. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    www.bhphotovideo.com is in your backyard.
     
  14. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    I assume by bumpers for your props you mean propeller guards. Well B&H has they myself I have no use for them after breaking mine along with a prop in first mishap in the backyard.
     
  15. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Did you get it working? I have the same issue from time to time and a quick plug into the Mac fixes it right up.
    And if you were to ask my opinion, skip the prop guards as they easily just add weight to it. Some swear by them but most don't bother.